When the malls take over - central town desolation

in #decay7 years ago

I had to take a quick walk to the bank just before Christmas, and I was struck by the almost mournful atmosphere in town. The day was also uncharacteristically cloudy and this just added to the effect.

I have lived in the same town for many years, and had a business in various locations in town central for over 24 years. As the big shopping centres sprung up, more and more business were diverted from town centre proper. In the last couple of years a mall was erected just out of town and now central town is decimated. Many landlords have not realised they have no choice but to decrease their shop rentals, causing many small businesses to go out of business or move out to the suburbs. Recently a few landlords have been reducing their prices, and that is the reason we moved to better premises..

As you can see there were no Christmas decorations, and this being the town's main road, used to be festooned with decorations over the street every Christmas. There are barely any decorations in the shops either.

The primary school I attended in Grade 2 in the 1970's.

This area of town used to be full of life. My first ever independent home with my husband was a flat on the left of this driveway. The thought of living here is horrendous to me at the moment, but I can still feel the happiness of having our own place to stay at last. Every night we would stroll around town, window shopping. There would be other families doing the same. It was safe in the 1990's, but now no one ventures onto the street at night.

These two gentlemen were very curious as to why I was taking so many photos. (Somewhat furtively I might add, as flashing a phone in central town is an invitation to get mugged.)

All the best chain stores and popular shops used to have businesses in this area. Now it is an area many people (or should I say, white people) fear to visit. When walking in town it is best not to wear jewelry (chains are commonly ripped off necks), carry handbags, or phones. I don't feel intimidated at all, but I am cautious and will be aware of the people nearby me at all times. It is also best to walk briskly, it makes it more difficult for the tsotsis (SA term for gangsters) to approach.

@onetree

Sort:  

Interesting way to show your city around. Cheers!

That was so cool for me to read and look at the pictures! It was really cool to see a city I'll probably never visit in real life. What a cool opportunity. Usually when we see pictures of places around the world they are tourist destinations or big cities. We don't usually get to see pictures of just regular places where people live. Well, I don't anyway. Thank you, and love from North Carolina, United States! <3

I like to see the places other people live too :)

I'm sorry that things have changed so much there. It's sad when things change for the worse.

I don't think it is only in our town. Corporations strangle small business and individuality is lost.

True, but I'm sad that the area has become more dangerous.

Yes, you were very brave to walk in some of these parts in town, let alone showing and taking photo's with your phone. But the pictures are nice and it tells the story of the decline of our town.

Thanks Nel :)

Yeah we have the same issue here as well. It has gotten to the point where there are no small shops in town.

It's so sad because we as customers have no alternatives but to buy from cookie cutter corporate giants.

Yeah... every mall is the same on the inside.

That does look really desolate. It's sad to see the same story playing out around the world. Here we've got a few "new urbanist" shopping centers cropping up, but they're really just artificial towns, like malls turned inside out - still all chain stores and real estate owned by one big company.

And now even the malls that killed Main Streets are being hit by the superstores and online shopping. A strange comeuppance.

I try to support small business whenever I can. Especially if it is the old guy selling bags of tomatoes on the side of the road to supplement his pension. Times are really tough for people.

Thank you very much for sharing this post because you did not just share this post.This post has written a nice way to make sure that you have a lot of benefits to get it back and thank you for the news.

Very grey and forlorn atmosphere! Incredible to see a big town center with very few cars and people. I see you also have Woolworth! I am afraid things are getting worse before they’ll get better in a few years.
Walk briskly is good!

It is sad, especially when you remember how it was, and how you didn't appreciate what you had when you had it!

Things are going to change a lot faster sooner. Look at the prices of cryptocurrencies, they have been smashed down hard, high inflation is coming and food stuff is going to be very expensive.
More businesses will disappear! I am afraid for my unwitting countrymen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64