DOING THINGS DIFFERENTLY: Not ‘right’ or ‘wrong’, just different!

in #debt7 years ago

Staying out of Debt

I have never had a credit card. I know there are pro’s and con’s to this, but I was brought up to believe that getting into debt was a bad idea, and I have stuck firmly to this principle ever since. I do have a debit card, but I am okay with that because I am careful not to get overdrawn in my bank account.

I can’t say, though, that I have never owed any money because I did have a mortgage when I bought my first house. Fortunately it was only a small one, because I had been able to save quite a large deposit during my teaching job. My husband and I found a house we liked in the seaside town of Brighton, UK, and trotted along to the local building society – one of a large chain.

To our astonishment, when the clerk looked at our joint incomes and professions and saw the house we wished to buy, he turned us down saying, ‘We think you can do better than that.’ My husband and I looked at each other in total incomprehension. It slowly dawned on me that they wanted us to get a bigger house in a more salubrious neighbourhood, just so that they could saddle us with a bigger mortgage and get more money out of us over a longer period! My first life lesson in the debt economy.

Fortunately we stuck to our choice and managed to find a small local building society to lend us the few thousand pounds we needed to buy the house. It served us well for a decade but then, after divorce, I decided I wanted to move right away from Brighton. It was then that I think I made the best financial decision of my life.

Most people seem to think they should ‘upsize’ when they buy a home, except towards the end of their life when they need to ‘downsize.’ Well, I downsized in my late thirties. I moved to a smaller house in a less expensive area and paid off my mortgage in full. Years later I did the same thing again, but this time I was able to buy a far bigger house because I moved from the South of England, where house prices are still artificially high, to the North, where house prices are much lower.

Living mortgage-free for so many years has enabled me to manage pretty well on a lower income, and I have no regrets about getting out of the debt economy all those years ago. My only fear is that if and when the economy implodes again, everyone else’s debts may be wiped clean – but so will my savings!

Sort:  

It is a shame people have to struggle financially to get a secure roof over their heads, but sadly that is how the western economy works. Good luck with it all.

We are currently paying off a mortgage on a small farm home. Built in '49.
I won'tlie, sometimes i prefer a bit bigger just so everything is not so squished in here, buy we're financially struggling and currently selling half our things just to get by anyway! Haha!
I too wish we could have been brought up in a better mindset. :(

Congratulations @vivdoyle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32