Introducing Myself: Life of Traveler's Wife: working towards a debt free life of travel and freedom

in #debt7 years ago

It's easier to keep trying when we know setbacks and shortcomings happen to everyone. I've been searching for stories about people like me: people in debt, who are embarrassed and feel guilty and struggle, who have good intentions (sometimes) but don't always follow through, who are overwhelmed and unashamed. I haven't found what I'm looking for so I decided to create it by documenting my life. I can't write an inspiring article about "how living with less has provided me with more," nor can I make a video that promises you "the perfect morning routine." But, I can create a video that shows you and reminds myself that I'm human, too. I don't have it all figured out and organized it into a beautiful blog with unrealistic "lifehacks," but I'll be genuine & show you my struggles & successes.

I'm currently working towards a debt free life of freedom and travel. My husband works through the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (electrician's union) and his job will allow him to travel once he is done with his schooling. Two more years from this post. We have already paid down over 30k in credit card and car debt and have another 65k in student loans to pay. From this post, we are on a 5 year plan to be debt free! We are currently paying $650 twice monthly on that 65k-- that's like a large mortgage payment!! It's really taxing and we make videos about how we still get to have fun with each other while putting most of our income towards this debt.

We especially like to document various things through YouTube Videos:

  • Food: I am working towards a vegan lifestyle while my husband chooses to eat meat and will likely always do so. We make videos about how we navigate this during meal times and while traveling.

food.png

  • Travel: We don't get to travel as much as we'd like to YET and we do so on a tight budget. We love the outdoors and new experiences.

travel.png

  • Debt and Money: Updates on our debt free goal and how we navigate life on a tight budget.

debt.png

  • Our Life: We love to be silly! It's the best way to have fun on a budget. This includes funny videos of our cat Ziggy Stardust, literal failures and successes, and just being weird and in love.

life.png

  • Mental and Physical Health: We are passionate about our physical health. We like to eat yummy, sustainable, nutritious foods that make us feel good and support our local community. We like to exercise though neither of us has a gym membership. I also make videos about when I get stuck in my head and how I deal with my mental health issues from past trauma and present struggles.

youtube.png

I don't have to be ashamed, I'm here, like it or not! I'm in the process of finding my life and hoping you'll join me in the journey by subscribing and sharing with people you know that may need to hear they're doing just fine just the way they are, RIGHT NOW.

last photo.png

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @travelers.wife, best regards hopefully you feel at home here. 😍

Thank you! I appreciate that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44