TheDebtFight - How am I going to start and what am I going to do?

in #debt8 years ago

Ever hear the saying, "Save for a rainy day," and "When it rains, it pours?"

We live our lives KNOWING that we're going to have emergencies but how many of us are actually prepared for them? I'm sure when we all got that first credit card we told ourselves, "for emergencies only." This was our first mistake, relying a something that gets us in debt to get us out of something that put us into debt.

A popular financial guru is Dave Ramsey. The problem with Dave Ramsey is that he wants you to pull money/jobs/time out of your ass. I'm sure if we had the available time, we would have the extra job, that would get us the extra money that would help us out of debt. Most of us already work 2-3 jobs just to put the food on our tables and roof over our heads. Now I'm not saying Dave Ramsey is wrong because the guy is super smart and has a lot of good advice but sometimes I feel it's unrealistic to expect people to pull something out of nothing. I agree with Dave with a lot of things, the first definitely being getting an Emergency Fund. A $1000 in a liquid cash account that you will have access to for when that emergency happens.

This was my first goal get $1000. I went through my house and looked for things to sell, figured this was the easiest way to start. Since I was a kid, I've collected video games and a lot of them I haven't touched in years. I love my video game collection but I love the idea of being debt free even more. So I packed up what I could fit in my truck and headed down to the local flea.

I also hopped on some online forums, craigslist, and eBay to find buyers for some items as well.

I was very VERY surprised that I was able to make over $1200 in a week of me just selling older games that I haven't touched in years. I will continue to go around my house and see what else I can find. But the important part is that part one, save $1000 in an emergency fund, is complete!

It's a small victory, but a victory nonetheless.

My next step is to sit down and see what all my expenses are and figure out a plan on how to tackle and handle them all.

Thank you for reading up until now and until the next one!

-Obie
http://www.thedebtfight.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74