The most complete Debian build ever?

in #debian7 years ago

Well, I am proud to say I probably have just that. I have just finished installing Freeplane for Mind-mapping and Knowledge Management! In addition I am using Laverna for encrypted notes. It is a super stable Debian build based on KALI Linux XFCE - light on resources. It's a complete Windows replacement on every level. Security, Privacy, Media - the Kitchen sink! See the following Blog post for included apps -
https://eugenevanderwatt.noblogs.org/post/2017/07/08/eugenes-awesome-app-choices-that-puts-your-debian-9-build-to-work/

Sort:  

Can you compare Free Pane to Ubuntu Mate? I have been using Ubuntu operating systems (OS) since 2007 and Windows before that. I've been on Apple a few times. I prefer Linux / Ubuntu / open source kind of programs / software / OS / etc............ I try out new OS sometimes... this is good.... I have used Wine on Ubuntu too.... Thank you for your post.

Thanks for your comment. Well this is a Debian with XFCE which I prefer over a DE such as Mate. This is a very powerful and stable desktop environment with apps cherry picked to give you as much Security, Privacy, Stability and Power to get the job done. As far as a setup goes and I am not talking KALI Linux at it's base it is certainly one of the most performance driven setups to go for.

I think I have Ubuntu Mate with XFCE but do not remember.
I like the classic desktop and user interface (UI) and I do not like Unity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50