You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living in a society where there's no gender would be a nice approach

in #debato5 years ago

I love this. So convenient for the men. I remember my first real job. The men tried to send me home. I didn't belong there. The reasons were many. Wives would be jealous. A woman on the job would bring the pay level down. It wasn't safe. It just wasn't right. It didn't matter that I had bills to pay. Responsibilities. I was supposed to just bow out.

I don't think so. Men shouldn't be afraid of competition, from each other or from women. If you're worried about being usurped, just get better. Otherwise make way. We're coming.

Do I sound irritated? You bet.

I love being a woman. If someone prefers to live life in a gender-neutral state, that's fine, for them. Just don't tell me what to do.

As for destroying traditional gender roles--good heavens, yes. Enough oppression. My husband and I met on that first job. Equality in no way interfered with courtship or marriage. 46-year anniversary celebrated on April 30, 2019.

Sort:  

I stay home with the kids and my wife works... I can tell you it ain't right. I see how my children suffer with their mother gone, and I'm sure yours did too. I just think it’s funny that it’s okay for women to be slaves to their boss but if they want to stay at home to raise their children somehow that makes them inferior to men...

Nobody suffered in my family, at least not because of role differences. I will say I wasn't a perfect parent and wish I could do that all over again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63