How Dare You Disagree With Me! What?

in #debate6 years ago (edited)

A couple of times on the platform I have upvoted and debated with people about what they think about a specific view on how SteemIt should work.  

I've been surprised few times  when someone has made a comment about me upvoting or even being polite after we disagreed.  Or in other cases acting like we are enemies because we disagreed over one topic on this complex platform.  I didn't know I have to dislike you because we disagree on a topic.

I don't know about you, but SteemIt for me is one little piece of my life and one of the things that I value.  If we are talking about how SteemIt should work or how Steem should be distributed and we have entirely different views, even if we got heated about the topic, I assume you are discussing it because it is also important to you.   We already have something we agree on.  The rest is just a topics and a perspective.

Has culture really gotten to the point we have to dislike anyone who holds a different opinion?  Not from my point of view.  We are figuring out and trying to understand a culture that is young and still developing, a financial situation that impacts us all.  I am okay if we disagree on some points of "How It Works".  I also form and change my views as I read and speak with others, and I hope that others consider my point of view as well.

I don't really care if you get snarky, cuss or yell, and I might also.  Once the conversation is done, I hope we both have considered another point of view and either changed or solidified our positions.  I hope we can remember we both obviously care about the project, and that it is a small element of our lives.  I assume you have many other redeeming qualities despite us disagreeing with voting bots or what is quality or what the ultimate goals of the site are.

So, thank you to those who have taken the time to share your ideas, argue, and debate - you've help shape my point of view, educated me on another way to look at things.  We are all still figuring out the usefulness, direction and future of Steem.

I'm fine if we disagree.  I find if I am still talking/writing about a topic it is because my views and ideas are still under development.  So, they are subject to change and I am interested in your opinion whether you agree or disagree with my opinion.

@whatsup


Sort:  

very nicely said and interesting that so many people that i know commented on this post. great words and truth. i like your response to sharon. ahahahah

I think it is a societal shift that if you disagree with someone you have to hate/attack/belittle/ridicule them. Its easy to blame social media for this. But I think its a cultural problem that arises from an ultimately selfish population. Instant gratification, there are no wrong ideas, everyone gets a trophy have all contributed to this. We see it alarmingly on college campuses. The once bastions of free speech and thought are now safe space daycares. Where you are now a victim if you are challenged intellectually or philosophically.

I have suffered this animosity in my own life. With my own family. I love to debate. I always have. I used to debate unpopular viewpoints in high school just for fun because it was interesting. I also have very strong views on politics, education, government, law enforcement, gun control, finance and a myriad of other interests.

In my own family I have inadvertently created rifts with people because of what and how I argue.

The ability to take a position and debate effectively and NOT make a personal attack is getting to be a more rare occurrence. I feel civil discourse is dead. I can argue with someone and have a spectacular lively debate.........and still not take anything they say as a personal attack. Thats the way it should be. But the reality is more and more polarizing by the day. Emotions have run amok. And now instead of having intellectual and civil debates we have bitter arguments. We suffer from a lack of empathy. I hope we can find our way back.

Great thought provoking post. Now back to some cat memes.

My family loved to debate also. We would yell and as soon as the conversation was over, it was over. It took my husband a while to get used to it. He dives right in now!

My wife still isn't at that point yet... but my family is mostly on the other side of the world. She is going to be in for a shock one day ;)

yess !! What you said!! i'm so with you on this one.

Remember when conversation, discourse, and debate were an important part of government, politics, and life?

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @fingersik

Thank you very much! I will check out the project.

I think that the main problem is that you are wrong so obviously and often and fail to understand the reality of the situation here at all.

In the world today we can tailor our feeds (or have them fed to us) , silo and echo chamber, design our information set and always find people and evidence to support us. We are patted on the back for mediocre performance and reward ourselves on our skewed self-evaluations designed to feed the ego, not the experience. We engineer our world to look and feel the way we want it to be and we throw cover over the negative and exaggerate the smallest positives.

And then, you disagree with me...

How am I prepared for such a shock to the system, an attack on my values, my being, my beliefs? How can you do this to me, how can you victimise me in such a way? Someone so cruel cannot possibly offer more than another blow to add another bruise? Your disagreeing with me doesn't accept me for who I am...

We are no longer connected, engaged, we are no longer in a culture where discourse and conversation can remain civil in disagreement. We have sectioned ourselves, boxed ourselves in and polarized our beliefs from one another and labelled it, freedom.

It's so hard to avoid disparaging those spoken of in this thread...

I don't quite get how anyone can really create a true echo chamber. There are certain people that piss me off due to ignorant beliefs, but I doubt I could ever create a true echo chamber. I find it a little disconcerting that anyone can. The only way you can have a large enough group that all believe in the same things, enough to create an echo chamber, is if they're blindly following another and actually have no beliefs of their own. That's sad.

It is sad, and although it is not a complete echo chamber, when conflict enters, it is easy to dismiss by the group. It is also easy to ramp up a bad idea into a terrible one. We live in strange times and even though human nature has always been this way, now it is supported and fed in a very unhealthy process through many channels, often to the benefit of one authority or another.

Totally true. A good heated debate is good for the soul... It also teaches, tolerance, patience, forgiveness, regret... And you can learn about the topic also.

Now, it is bullying if you get mad. I feel old sometimes.

That's because debates and discourses are not all about proving you're right and that someone is wrong. It is also about exploring a topic, discussing its points and coming up with an understanding. In the end, whether you win or lose a debate, you would still walk away a little bit smarter, a tad enlightened, and a whole lot understanding of the other person's view. Unless you mistook the debate for a fight and ended up with broken nose.

It's really hard for people to do this, though. It's in human nature to be conflictive and to mentally belittle people who hold opposing views. If I am right and you are wrong, then you must have some kind of mental deficit or something must be broken in you, right?

I'm not broken... YOU ARE. (lol, kidding) Yes, I guess that is what it stems from. :) I give the rest of the world permission to be wrong. (when they disagree with me) lol.

We share the way of seeing this, not only in steemit I apply that in my daily life, considering the point of view of someone else can be such an educating experience some times!

I'm going to have to disagree to agree here 😊

If we got heated about the topic, I assume you are discussing it because it is also important to you. We already have something we agree on. The rest is just a topics and a perspective.

It's very easy to overlook this key point in the heat of the moment.

Nicely done.

I have less than a week here in steemit but I share your point of view on debate and discussions in general.

I don't understand how the platform works at 100% yet but for now I have liked what I have seen.

BTW, I blame Facebook, where when you disagree with that certain relative, they treat you like garbage.

In the 90's and 00's we had forums and blogs. Like this place. They were hella popular. You learned how to have intelligent discourse with people without it being the end of the world. You need to learn how to do that. That is an integral part of society.

If we couldn't argue with people without hating them, then human society would fall apart.

Of course, Facebook is just another part of the media, and blaming the media is easy.

You can also blame schools, for not dealing with bullies and teaching kids how to properly coexist. After all, if they had done so, then more would be able to properly debate issues, without becoming abusive.

You could blame parents, if they actually raised their kids anymore. They have them from 0-5 years, then every evening before bed. School teachers often see them more than their father.

The truth is it's a combination of issues, and it's rather pathetic. But I still blame Facebook, and the schools.

Haha, yeah it is a cultural thing that is leaking into all sorts of places, but Facebook and schools are helping.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82