Adam Kokesh has Agreed to Debate!

in #debate6 years ago (edited)

For those who have been following this story,

I challenged Adam Kokesh to a formal debate regarding the nature of his presidential platform.

He has agreed now to do the debate.


0C30B0B6-4487-4AAB-BD8F-60A72E0B20C0.jpeg


I asked Adam the following three questions in this post’s comment thread yesterday to make sure we actually disagree, before proceeding with the debate:


  1. In your view, is becoming President via the American Electoral Process a legitimate (as per voluntaryist property ethic) means by which to assume control and authority (even if temporary) over lands and resources?

  2. Would the non-profit organizations which will be taking ownership of national parks and keeping them “open to the public” (as per your platform) also allow the parks to be homesteaded and turned into private property either in part or in full? If so, how could said properties be considered “open to the public”? If not, how could a plan which prohibits homesteading be considered “voluntaryist”?

  3. Presidential executive orders are placed under limitations by congress and the 2nd amendment of the US constitution. As such, a dissolution of the fed gov not being an option provided by these “authorities,” how will you make a “special case,” executive order/edict outside the bounds of current law/governmental protocol?


Kokesh’s answers:


EA3DB477-CB37-4B3E-918E-82ACEF909DB4.jpeg

THESE RESPONSES CONFIRM THAT WE FUNDAMENTALLY DISAGREE.

PROPOSED DEBATE RESOLUTION:

Assuming authority and control of lands and resources via the American governmental electoral process, in order to end the federal government, is a legitimate and pragmatic means—in view of voluntaryist property ethic—by which to bring about a free and voluntary society.

I would be arguing for the negative. Kokesh for the positive.


We need a neutral moderator.


I have some very professional folks in mind and will be contacting them, but if there is anyone else interested in moderating a formal debate, please let me know in the comments.

The debate will take place online, via some platform like Google Hangouts, etc.

A format for the debate, including but not necessarily limited to: opening statements, opening statement rebuttals, question and answer, audience submitted questions, and closing statements will be set up as soon as all three parties (Kokesh, Smith, and Moderator) agree on the details.

If this is something you’re interested in seeing please upvote and resteem!

Stay tuned for the opportunity to submit questions for both debaters to answer live during the debate.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Dude, I can’t wait to see it, it’s gonna be EPIC!
You should get Milo Yiannopoulous to moderate it would be a fucking riot!

Haha. That would indeed be a riot. Thanks man.

I personally think that a non-sensationalized approach would be most beneficial.

The reason being that the star and winner of the show should not be either 'side' of the debate but rather the issue(s) being debated.

While understanding the legitimacy of calling a person out upon what may have been intentionally obscure elements of his platform, it remains beneficial (if perhaps less of a spectacle) to retain cool heads within the debate to come.

I hope this debate will be going into a right direction, with a clear sense of purpose.

Can't wait to fucking see this! Re fucking steemed! A comment I made beneath one of Adam's most recent steemit posts "Hey Adam.... is voting for Anarchy anything like Fucking for Virginity?"

That's amazing!!
I'll definitely be watching it no matter what!!
Thanks n best of luck!! ❤

Awesome I can't wait to see this!

Upvoted, you know I am looking forward to this.

I'll be watching this develop with great interest. Cheers.

Hopefully this goes ahead as I have been very interested in the brief exchanges that have taken place on Steemit. Adam is just the latest 'celebrity' activist who I have started to have doubts about but perhaps all my doubts will be swept away when I watch/listen to the debate.

Here's hoping.

Upvoted and resteemed for visibility.

Thanks, @jimbobbill.

Me too. He’s said yes so let’s hold him to it.

Thanks for the upvote and resteem. Much obliged.

I am all settled with my popcorns :D

IMG_0024.PNG

Molyneux wipes the floor with Kokesh here, and I like both of these guys (I still like Kokesh even though I disagree with him in this debate, and I don’t see how anyone could watch this and come to any other conclusion other than that Molyneux won this debate).

The debate hasn’t happened yet.

I was talking about the previous one

You said “here.”

By here I referred to that debate, sorry if wasn't able to express it completely. I should have used there instead of here

No prob. Just making sure not spam. I watched the Molyneux debate and even though I disagree with Moly, his arguments were much more solid than Kokesh’s.

You should check, you always should

I agree with Stefan's position far more than Kokesh. Stef's internal logic is very clearly on display and you can follow the steps easily. Kokesh reaches conclusions that don't follow a logical process.

Bachowukh ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24