Words are Powerful: Argue, converse, joke, but with love and respect

in #debate7 years ago (edited)

arugument-quotes7.jpg

The Power of Words:

Joe Rogan interviews Jamie Foxx and they talk about giving comedians space to play, and that starts with understanding that humour isn't always what it seems. This is a great interview, it's funny and poignant.

This interview is about not taking offense to a comedian's words but this hits me hard. On one hand I understand and agree but yet I would argue we need to be careful with our words.

The topic strikes me hard because yesterday I was upset by something someone said, that was I am sure intended in "good humor" but yet hurt.

So should I just "get over it", or is there room for us to discuss the power of language and responsibility of a speaker to wield that power with respect?

I hope both.

images.jpeg

Sometimes humour can go too far: Can't it?

Don't get me wrong...

I think we should argue openly and often about every topic under the sun and I like thought provoking edgy humour.

I think humans talking about contraversial material is healthy. Also conversation and comedy can be a path to clearer thinking through open and reasoned exchange of ideas. However, I also believe that we should share our opinions respectfully and that we should debate in a manner that aims to convince others, not humiliate them.

LetMyPeopleThink_RaviZacharias_FI1_Logo_600.jpg

A christian apologist I respect, Ravi Zacharias said it better than I am able:

"In a world of civility you do not mock a counter persepctive you dialogue with a counter perspective."

"What is the end in sight? Do we desire the winning of the person or the decimation of the person?"

Say what you mean, Nothing More:

4a89d2bd03c362150e988da32fb6451f--cs-lewis-quotes-words-quotes.jpg

My view is that argument, conversation and even humour are healthy and helpful for distilling social frameworks, for disecting ideologies and growing in knowledge. In my view NO topic should be off limits to such dialogue and debate.

However in order for an idea to seed and then grow it needs the fertile ground laid by respectful dialogue.

ee5ab0429e71a43954467c2242dcfb57.jpg

So when you speak, what is the purpose? The winning of the person or decimation of the person? Do we want to help them see our point? Or are we just trying to humiliate and ridicule?

Immature-people-always-want-to-win-an-argument-even-at-the-cost-of-a-relationship.-Mature-people-understand-that-its-always-better-to-lose-an-argument-and-win-a-relationship..jpg

Let's argue, but with love:

I think the first can be used to make our world better and our culture more loving, but the second is poison and pride, vanity and death. Debate without love is judgement, humour without love is mockery and ridicule.

If we focused on love first and being "right", second, how might our world be different.

download.jpeg

What do you guys think? Does debate deserve respectful dialogue, or is respect irrelevant in debate?

As always if you enjoy the content please upvote, comment, resteem and follow.

Sort:  

Es cierto amigo el respeto es una de las herramientas mas importantes que todos debemos tener presente. excelente post saludos.

I think we all appreciate good humour but when you're at the receiving end, you are probably not going to like it. However, insulting and humiliating someone is not the way to go about it.

Agreed. I can take a joke and I can hear your contrary position, we can argue or talk at odds for hours but...

If we do not offer respect with that dialogue then we cant expect any meaningful growth to comeout of that exchange.

To put it another way, its hard to hear the constructive arguments of your opponent if she/he is insulting you repeatedly. And thats sad because it evetually leads to those people stopping the conversation.

Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81