Debating - A Way to Step out of your Narrative

in #debate7 years ago

You’ll Always Learn Talking to Another

I always love to debate. While I am not sure of the exact reason, I think it is tied to my want to be right. Now, I don’t mean I can’t admit when I am wrong, I just have a deep rooted fear of being wrong. So when I find out I am wrong, I try to learn as much as possible.

a-2729794_640.png

Many times over my life, I have learned many new ideas, facts, fictions, and everything else in between just by talking back and forth with someone about a specific topic. What people would call a debate.

I think it is important to debate, in a respectful way, and stay open to new ideas. As you can tell by my name, BiasNarrative, my theme can be pretty focused on trying to get to the truth past the biased viel of belief that everyone is blinded by. It is hard, once someone is convinced of a topic, to get them to believe anything but what they already think is the truth.

This is a problem everywhere. I will be guilty of it to, it is what we do as humans. But, I think it is important for everyone to accept that part of them and try to fight past it, to give other opinions a chance.

A Debate Idea

I am thinking of starting a new type of post. Where I post an idea, certain takes for or against a certain topic. There would be a growing wall of good points made for each side. By asking hard questions and being civil humans simply looking for information, it is possible that some people may come to a conclusion they thought completely different about before.

It is ALSO probable that people get extremely but hurt and flag others for simply making a point. I think there would have to be some sort of expectations of rules while posting. Ideally, I would even want to try to leave any politics out of it. Forget about what the Republicans are doing. Forget about what the Democrats are doing. Just think about the issue at hand and what you believe the answer should be.

Forget about party beliefs. Just look for good points in a conversation that needs to happen in a setting where people are striving to LEARN more.

consulting-2204248_640.png

Just for an example:

For

  • Possibility for people to learn.
  • Bring new ideas to conversations that may not be happening between people of different beliefs.

Against

  • People will get butt hurt.
  • Some people may get flagged.

Uncertainties

  • Not sure if people from all beliefs would come to put in their points and proofs.
  • Not sure how long a post can be edited for. (Is it until it is paid out?)
  • Trying to stay impartial to the debate while finding good points.

office-2463928_640.jpg

What are your thoughts. You think it is something that could have merit?


-BiasNarrative


Do you understand your keys?

Your Steem Wallet and You

Sort:  

Love the idea.. i used to be a debater in high school and then in college too. Went on to become national champion and won 16 contests..

So glad to have found a fellow debater. The idea is wonderful.. you should go ahead with this..

How about the topic is declared in post and people would debate on it in comments under two comment headers named "for" and "against"?? That way the post wont have to be re-edited again and again..

I feel good points could fall into the nether of comments if a history of good points is not kept.

Hmmm well you are right.. so have you finalized about how do you wanna do this??

Kind of.... Gonna try a post here soon. Just trying to get through the last few weeks of exams and Finals before graduating. I am kind of everywhere currently.

To me the idea of presenting points in the debate should not involve feelings . The I feel should be replaced to I think . I know it's inevitable that

People will get butt hurt.

But I have a choice to not accept their opinions and points. You should go ahead with your idea because it's very interesting to get people engage in a real conversation.

Debate opens up a whole new world to me and I always think it's one of a way to gain different perspective and information. The final result is upon the individual to decide.

I like the idea.. I think nobody likes to be wrong lol that's why I only talk when I know I'm right, otherwise I just stay quiet hahah... but yea people will get butt hurt but I'd just look at the positive side :)

Hey I just followed you And up Your post :)

its impossible to be right about anything in a single lifetime.

Perhaps, but it would be ignorant not to learn to seek truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28