Dead or Alive, No Different!

in #death6 years ago (edited)


I was reminded of something yesterday, after hearing of the loss of the Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin. We all know life is or can be a fragile thing, we can be alive one minute, the next we are dead. I'm surprised I've made it this far, after all the experiments with alcohol and illegal chemicals, not to mention some of the stunts I pulled off in my younger years in those mindless states.


I also have to say that in 61 years, I've only lost two good friends, so far the rest of us have survived.

The one thing that stays constant though, is that whatever we may have been like alive, we are the same after we are dead. If you were an asshole when you were alive, you're still an asshole when you are dead.

I've only been to a few funerals, and it always amazes me how some people, who you've spoke to about the deceased before the funeral are telling you how much that they could care less that this poor bastard is dead, and is now at the funeral telling relatives how wonderful the deceased was????

There they are swooning away, and offering their "thoughts and prayers, and telling the relatives the deceased is in a better place, which that alone pisses me off, a better place, really, I'd think a better place would be sitting at my computer with a cold beer beside me, not being cold stiff and in a coffin.

Let me give an example of what I'm talking about. I went to school with a guy all my school years, knew him well, and knew his wife quite well. I actually went to school and Sunday school with her. In later years he ran for public office. I was in the grocery store one evening when he and she were there, and I being a friendly sort said Hi! To which no recognition or response was given back to me. I didn't bother say anything more, just continued with my shopping.

Maybe a few months after this, he was up for reelection. I once again saw them in the same grocery store. As soon as he saw me he walked right up, hand out and said how glad he was to see me, and told me about his upcoming election, and all this for that simple reason, he wanted my vote. I politely told him to "piss off" and went about my shopping.

He died a few years back, and I never went to the funeral, because I didn't like him alive, and i sure as hell could have cared less now that he was dead.

The only thing death changes about us is our physical state, not the memory of who and how we were when we were alive! Some may think I've been a bit harsh with these words, and was disrespectful, but if I felt that way, then it would have been a waste of my time writing this, wouldn't it have been? With that said I leave this with you all...

You were a classy, sassy lady, the Queen of Soul, and YOU will be missed.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://skiponlinenow.com/dead-or-alive-no-different/

Sort:  

appreciate the blunt aspect you shared. Well said.

I hate those ones. I have met a fair few myself

yup,me too, that is for sure! Hope you have a great weekend! :)

You too dudester!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38