I want to donate my body parts after I die

in #death8 years ago

I have just answered a question about would I donate my hands after I die. This is due to a person having a double hand transplant.
I find it a weird question in one way as why would it bother me what happens to my body when I am gone as I will not know anything about it. But on the other hand it bothers me as I think that I will not be whole if thee is life after death and I will need those parts to transition. Oh, it gets me a bit teary-eyed thinking about things like death and what happens after so will think of something else.
How great is it that we can help one another by giving organs after death or even when living. It must be a wonderful feeling to help someone on that way. I have never even donated blood as I have trouble giving it due to deep veins and they said it would be impossible to get enough blood out of me. My veins disappear at the mention of a needle.
So here is a shout out to all those amazing donors out there.

Sort:  

I like your way of thinking. I work in the insurance industry, Primarily life insurance and I come across this quite a bit. Donating your organs can be done very easily and often governments will have a register you can sign up to. However in regards to leaving other major body parts, like hands for example can be a lot tricker yo u often needs to be at tip top health. People have the same issue when donating their bodies to science.

Take care of yourself, not just so you can donate, but so you can live a full fun life too!

I think it's WONDERFUL to donate your body (or parts of it). As one of my former jobs, I was an obituarist and had daily interaction with many funeral directors. There is something so comforting about end of life arrangements. Donation is a huge part of that. Be sure to speak to your family about your wishes and have it written down somewhere! Way to go.

They can help themselfes to my bits if they will help someone living then go for it. Its not hard decide something like that but think it would be really hard for your loved ones to decide.

I have no qualms about donating either thankfully wales now has an opt out system.

My dear dad donated himself to science 3 years ago, I could not be more proud of him for doing that. The UK only gets around 300 bodies per year donated and these have to teach scientists and doctors. If they do not get enough people like my dad donating their bodies to science how can we expect science to come up with cures for diseases to help the living xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52