consciousness dose not extend beyond death (working in death part 2)

in #death5 years ago (edited)

For those who are new here I will give you a brief recap. I'm a Japanese nurse of 13 years and I have seen it all. I have worked in the ER, cancer unit, and now I work in a hospice where people live out the very end of their life. In part 1 I talked about the negative consequences on my personal relationships due to working with death(link below). In this blog I will give you my take on why I feel that consciousness fades and dose not extend into the after life. This idea also means there is also no afterlife. This is not a popular opinion mainly because knowing you will see a loved one again either when you die or when they die is one of the most effective ways to deal with the death one a loved one and also your own death.

Working in a hospice it is normal to get to know a patient anywhere from a couple months to a week before they die. It is also not uncommon to have a patient a day die. Something that I cant answer is when someone is about to die, it could be a week or a couple hours before death, know one seems to be home. They don't seem to be who they were their entire life. From be hyper aware and realize your on your last hour (hypothetically speaking) to being a set of clueless eyes staring blindly is very unsettling and unsatisfying. We all become like this at some point if we don't expire un-naturally. 

After witnessing this too many times I have accepted the idea we don't go anywhere, I consciousness doesn't manifest and we are just slightly more impressive monkeys who enjoy loving more than your average animal. If this is not the care one would have to think that our consciousness escapes us little by little the closer to death be reach. this would mean our consciousness is fragmented and is not a single entity which would almost go against the idea of being conscious.
ccccc.jpg

Sort:  

damn this is to heavy for my morning.

Congratulations @dec-collector! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95