Update - The Last Three Days

in #deardiary5 years ago (edited)

I have been MIA for three days due to a power outage. Since Saturday morning, those responsible for fixing the faulty powerlines claimed they were unavailable to fix the issue or completely ignored our pleas on social media. And because I live in a country where emergency numbers rarely work, they had the upper hand.

What angers me, even more, is that I live five minutes from the nearest substation. Imagine that!

IMG-20181116-125254170.jpg

Good news...

Maureen passed her final exams and she gets to join high school next year. Now I just need at least 1000 US dollars to make that possible. That is how expensive good education is where I come from. I wish I can say it won't be hard or that I was ready for this but none of that would be true. I am still very proud of her though.

Maxwell finalizes his high school tomorrow. I am a blessed woman but also a very overwhelmed one. Where do I start? He has to join college next year but he'll have to wait for a few months as I plan a way out.

Posting...

I am done reading Chimamanda's Feminist Manifesto and I know I promised to review it but not today. I am currently reading Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo and I can only review Chimamanda's when I am done.

Blame the being the inability to digest anything more on my already freaking out brain to next year's responsibilities. I can also gladly blame my age :D

Poetry...

Sometimes it's birth takes place in me on a daily basis. Other times like right now, I struggle to put words next to each other and constructing a single stanza becomes an uphill task for my unwilling mind. Soon, I will get back to it. But. I have this hunch that it will be dark for a while until light consumes the monstrous shadows occupying my creative space.

Send me some inspiration if you can... I will really appreciate it. Thank you in advance if you will.

IMG-20181116-125150633.jpg

Both photos are mine.

Thank you for coming...

Also posted on my Whaleshares.

Sort:  

I am overjoyed to read that you are well, and that Maureen and Maxwell are making strides in their educational pursuits. I am angered, however, that bureaucracy has failed you. Good to see you back.

Do you have Twitter or Instagram?

Thank you so much. It's amazing to see them flourish :)

I do but I am thinking of closing them down. Like I did with my facebook recently. Can you wait till I do? Please :)

@tezmel, It's really frustrating time when the electricity is cut offed for days and mainly our work get affected due to these kind of unforeseen events. And picture of that tree is showcasing the breathtaking essence and tree always reflects one message and that is, never give up no matter what situation you are facing.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I am glad you got the tree 'message'. Thank you for reading and for the support.

It's more of goodnight where I come from but thank you :)

Welcome and have a great time ahead. 🙂

You got a 7.72% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tezmel!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99