20th Anniversary - I Miss You Mama

in #deardiary6 years ago (edited)

For my favorite girl...

I have been avoiding my pens for a good reason. A good excuse not to break down like a small girl and tell the world how much I miss you. Something I thought time would've fixed by now as they say it heals everything but this wound won't heal. I still miss you twenty years later and as badly as I did at fifteen.

Fifteen...

The age that death shook my being after taking away the only pillar I had in my life. The age I was when you took your last breath that drizzling Thursday morning in 98. Also, the same age that I realized life can go south any second. That relatives are not always family regardless of them being 'blood'.

In between the last two decades...

Womanhood found me. It evaporated my adolescence overnight as I tried to fit in your shoes. Your very big shoes. I failed of course... miserably. So life taught me how to come up with my own custom-made miniature boots to tackle what would be my life. In the process, I met motherhood at an age you would've not been proud of. In my defense, I was running from your abusive relatives.

Your daughters became the pillars that you were. They held their eldest up until we found our way in this chaotic world somehow. They turned into fine women, good mothers, and beautiful souls. You would be so proud of them.

If you were still here...

Tomorrow you'd have turned an amazing fifty-three. Today you'd have celebrated one of your grandsons' 12th birthday. And your eldest grandson sitting for his final exams to join university next year. Or how your remaining five grandchildren are doing so well despite the challenges we as a family have encountered.

But you died yesterday two decades ago at 33. It still hurts. Even at my 35.

I miss you, my favorite girl... Continue resting in peace.

Also posted on my whaleshares.

Sort:  

It’s my Mom’s 95th birthday today and even though I never got along with her that much because we were so different I love her deeply and glad that I made the move to be closer to her again.....
This is the first story I read since months! I need to stay again and read more .....💛

Sometimes not 'getting along' isn't such a bad thing if you ask me. What matters is you love her and she was there to witness your turning into someone completely different from her. I don't know if I would be getting along with my own if she were here today because like you, I am a different person from who she was but I know just like you, I'd be loving her with every bit of my soul.♡

Wish her a beautiful 95th... she's truly blessed! Thank you for coming... It's always wonderful to hear from you 🌞

Posted using Partiko Android

How sad Tezmel. I say a prayer for you.

Thank you. It's appreciated ♡

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s okay to be Mom’s “little girl”. Take comfort in God’s promise. Peace be with you. ❤️❤️❤️❤️

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you for the love ♡

Peace be with you too.

Posted using Partiko Android

It always hurts, especially when our people leave when there is so much life for them they didn't have the time to live. I am sure she is proud of the children she left behind and she is somewhere up there protecting you.

You are such a beautiful soul. I appreciate the ever present love and support ♡

Thank you so much for the comforting words.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 10.28% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tezmel!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79