You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Dear Dawne" Live Today! - Joining Groups & Being Involved With Discord

in #deardawne6 years ago

@goldendawne Alert incoming silly newbie question.
Can anyone join the Homesteader community? I never considered myself a homesteader. I do own a home on a small patch of land in a rural area. For bonus points I recieved a beekeeper suit, smoker, and muskrat traps for Christmas 😮
I am not growing tons of food, keeping farm animals, living off grid or anything like that.
I have been thinking a lot of the knowledge and culture of the Appalachians would make good blog content. Things like making old school lye soap, canning applesauce over an open fire, the many uses for Dandelion ect. This group seems a great fit for some of my content.
Is the group open to people like me?

Sort:  

Being in the HSO group on Discord doesn't mean you have to be off-grid, a 100% homesteader.

Take me for instance.. I garden, I grow herbs, I cook and bake from scratch, make my own remedies, etc. There are many classifications to being a homesteader. Some people in there only have gardens, while others are raising chickens and small livestock. We are a BIG compilation of people with goals of living more freely, growing and raising our own food, or even becoming more independent or self-reliant.

Thanks! That helps a lot. I have been looking around for 3 weeks. Deciding where I fit in and what to post. I do find myself commenting on the homesteader blogs often.
I wanted to be sure and not misrepresent my reality. I am a lot like you in how I live. That could change at any moment since Hubs keeps suggesting chickens or goats.
Actually I probably need to get over there. Just in case I need to learn what to do with a goat. 🐐
Thanks again for clarifying.

Here is the direct link to join- https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

The main chat area is the Front Porch, plus there's a Welcome Channel and Newbie steemit channel.

Any questions you have, feel free to ask. Someone is always in the main chat area

Thank you so much!!! I think Steemit will be tons more fun if I make some friends here. Not to mention I have a lot to learn.

Congratulations, this newbie nickel is sponsored by #steemitcommentchallenge this week!

red-diamond.gif

#newbieresteemday highly recommends this sponsor!

Thank you thank you and thanks 😍
This has been a super productive thread for me in more ways than one.
If I finish my work today I may check out that comment challenge.
Happy steeming

You're welcome... we have a special edition dear dawne coming out tomorrow... Keep your eyes open @headchange! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41