You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Dear Dawne" is Going Live Today! - Get A "Pro" To Check Out Your Blog (the line starts forming..3..2..1..NOW)

in #deardawne6 years ago (edited)

Hi Dawnie.

My question is to do with the best use of hashtags.

Is it worth using ones such as photography when we are just starting out?
Should we make up our own?
Is there any real SEO value in the first one used (in terms of Google search e.g.)? If so, should we be taking that into consideration?
What can we do to get the most value from them?
Does the strategy change once we're more established and if so at what point?

Thanks 💙

Sort:  

Ok, let's break this down some.
Starting your own tags versus using existing one. When starting out I would HIGHLY recommend using existing tags. I have been on this platform for just over 6 months and have been doing a weekly post called HOLLER OUT Tuesday. So for about 25 weeks I have been writing this weekly post but it wasn't until about three or four weeks ago I started using hollerout as a tag. Why? Because I wasn't visible enough. now that I have established myself, I fell comfortable enough to tag myself this way.

SEO and google value- Yes there is to some degree. If you were to search a keyword or user/member on the steemit search at the top of the page, you will see the top few links are adverts and such. Scrolling down you will see steemit based posts and members then. So SEO can be crucial but try not to focus too much on that when starting out. Establish your daily dedication by making quality posts and commenting on others'posts like there's no tomorrow. My first four months on steemit, I would spend an hour or two making my own posts and another 4-6 just commenting and interacting with others. Spreading my visibility.

Strategy changing over time? OH YES!!! I have implemented many different ways of working steemit. I still spend about an hour a day working on the qurator newsletter every day, I make 1-4 posts per day (about 2-3 hours) then the rest of the day I comment.I am on steemit and in Discord for about 10-12 hours Mon-Fri and about 6 hours on the weekend. No one way is correct on how to establish yourself or how much to comment and post; every person is different. It also depends on what communities you belong to as well as what your tag audience is.

Thank you for taking the time to answer. Hope it was helpful for other minnows too! 😍

You're welcome!!! All the learning and tips take time. Believe me... it took me forever to figure out some things on steemit. But once you do... everything else seems to start falling into place.

Looking forward to that day!

Today I've gone back to the beginning to try and get a better grasp of curation, upvoting etc. I spend most of my time reading, comment and replying so it would be handy to understand it better.

Oh.... You are doing EXACTLY what you need to be doing- commenting, replying.

Check out the FAQs section for upvoting and curation questions.

Sorry to be dense but which FAQ section are you referring to? 😁

No worries... if you are on a laptop or computer, go to the upper right corner and see those three lines to the right of your profile pic? CLick on that... then click on the FAQ tab. It gives you some basic steemit info and you can always use the search box to look things up... ie. formatting, links, how to curate, etc

Ha ha! 😊And ah ha!💡 I was going to ask this very snagging, tagging question!!

And your answer @goldendawne was really, like REALLY, helpful, thanks so much. ❤️

I had been pondering how to do this, when to do it, and the advice you have given is bang on! I will create my own tags eventually but will use existing ones until I have sufficient numbers of followers (hopefully) waiting for me to post. Looooong way to go yet but persistence and kindness will get us all there. 🚂

Just gotta say...your own dedication in terms of a) your success 💐and b) the sheer amount of time you dedicate to steemit is epic! ⏰Slightly daunting too for those of us with perhaps less time to devote to steeming but inspiring nonetheless...way to go, sister!

And my grateful thanks for showing us the hacks, tips and ideas that will help us all grow.
What goes around comes around...and may we all benefit and share in the turning of that particular wheel😊

Big sweeping bow of gratitude to you💚

You're very welcome. As I have said to so many people over the last few months, nothing was more discouraging than NOT knowing what I was doing when I first joined last July.

I honestly never knew if anyone was mentoring others at the time.

Yes, exactly the not knowing what you're doing decreases confidence and that affects everything.

Knowing someone is actively engaged in helping us newbies is the best form of encouragement you can get, along with the constructive crit, of course!

And from what I have seen extending the hand of friendship is another kindness that also helps people to blossom.

I just wrote a post about kindness and the ripple effect so I know you are in for some lovely good karma for all the really useful advice and service you have offered to assist all of us❤️

In peace
Lily⭐️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42