Dear Diary:My Story Of Accidental Phenobarbital Overdosage Because Of My Quest To Solve My Insomnia

in #dcooperation6 years ago


I think this is the second time I will tell this story about overdosing in Barbiturates because I was always anemic before and it lead me into having problems in sleeping. So happened when I was still in my early years in being a dialysis patient where I was making ways to solve my insomnia problem. It came to a point that I took a prescription sheet and wrote down the pertinent items on it and went on to buy to the pharmacy and then I was given my medicine which is phenobarbital.

I thought that it will solve my insomnia but it didn't because I went into a comatose state after ingesting maybe about less than 16 tablets of 90 mg dosage each.

At first I was taking about four tablets which made me very sleepy which I never felt before. Phenobarbital is a long-acting depressant which means it effects takes long to kick in but you will feel its effects for a long time unlike the real sleeping pills which are short-acting and intermediate-acting ones that only helps you "catch" sleep but will let you wake up unless you also overdose on them too.

Phenobarbital is dialyzable which meant the effects can be washed off by dialysis and maybe I went a couple of times taking Phenobarbital before finally one night I thought that I took some dosage that I can tolerate but I never woke up that day.

The day after I took a lethal dose of Phenobarbital some members from our church went on to visit me but I was still sleeping. So my mother just entertained them until they head on their way out again without seeing me.

Then after that my mother went to check me in my room seeing me frothing in my mouth and I cannot be woken up. Had Phenobarbital to be at least an intermediate-acting one I would have died, but since it takes long for the body to process that drug I had the ample time to get dialyzed and cleansed from overdosage because my parents rush me to the hospital where I am being treated with dialysis.

It took a few dialysis before the effects are completely washed off and luckily I took off the label from the bottle of Phenobarbital beforehand so my mother saw it, didn't know what it was and threw it out so they never knew even my doctors what caused my being comatose.

It was an experiment that I have learned from, which made me aware of the medicines that I have to take with care and from then on I never tried taking such sleeping aids because they actually doesn't work in giving me a real kind of sleep where you dream and your brain still is functioning and not making you blank and at the same time draining your pockets too.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Be careful bro with taking these large doses, its better to probably put on a netflix an hope that the TV end up watching you than risking it...

Most of these medication only play with the sleep cycles (REM sleep vs Non-REM sleep), so you may close your eyes for a few hours but your body never goes through the thorough cycle, long term these medication can end up leading to a host of mental health issues... I suspect its the reason why so many people are on the edge, its these kind of medication

Oh no ... Really so sad news my friend . You are brave boy in the world . I wish you get well soon ......

YIKES! That is very scary and a close call!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76