Do trading bots ever just give away money? I think one gave me a bunch yesterday....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #daytrading6 years ago

So yesterday I was trading on COSS.io and I noticed TIG coin with a big 50% spread. like I could buy for .000098 ETH and sell for .000148 (or thereabouts) It looked like it had some recent trades so maybe it was a wierd anomaly and had just had all the middle of the spread bought out, creating a great opportunity for maybe a trade or two before the rest of the market makers filled it in. So I put in an order for what i could afford. To my surprise the order went through within moments. so I offered it all up for sale at a 50% markup...and within seconds sold it. So rebought and resold and repeat and repeat and repeat. increasing my total amount 50% on each of the first few trades. then someone other market makers filled it in a bit down to about 30%, then 20 % and yet I could keep trading. what was odd though is once my order size got f'n huge, the buys and sells werent eating my whole order...it kept buying and selling the same really wierd amount. it was something like 1663.12376 like a wierd random amount. but the exact same wierd random amount over and over. so my assumption is that someone was buying high and selling low over and over? and not noticing that they were burning through all their money? and had the exact same order value set in their thing each time? OR there was some wierd bot set to stimulate trading in this really new coin to help get things moving. In any case, I ended up about 2 grand up from the ordeal in less than 2 hours. and am now the worlds 11th highest volume trader in the world on Tigereum. Then all off a sudden the liquidity stopped. There was a spread. me and the other market makers had orders sitting...and nobody was buying or selling. gradually I have sold most of my position since then (still making money) and now have enough to diversify into other penny coins. Which don't buy and sell as fast, but I have to wonder...what the hell caused this wierd anomaly for a couple hours. why would someone burn money like that?

Follow and upvote me if you want to follow more odd adventures from a newbie daytrader

Sort:  

Congratulations @jasonsteele! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jasonsteele! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46