Days and Nights, Seasons and Times - What's The Difference?

in #day6 years ago

On December 31st night I was lost in thoughts.

The sun rises as usual and goes to work. The moon takes over. They're doing their jobs as usual.

Somehow I think that in order for man to be able to bring finiteness to the infinite, we carve labels, boxes, and boundaries. That's why we have calendars that demarcate a block of days and months. We want to measure stuff always, a pandering to definiteness which undergirds results.

Last Christmas, unlike me, I wasn't particularly thrilled by all the fever around me. 😊

The girls in my hood thronged the hair maker opposite my family home till 25th morning. My 72 year-old dad asked me when they'd showcase the hair. I smiled.

That same night I stepped my feet into a night club for the first time in my life. Curiosity let me there. I didn't last 10 minutes. Cigarette smoke, sights of sweaty bodies in distortionary gyrations and dangling breasts choked me. I ran out. Now, I can talk about clubs.

While I didn't judge them hypocritically, I saw folks whose souls yearned for something - the desire to be happy. We are all clawing at that thing we feel will give us a thrill and placate our weary souls, sending the worries of the world careening to the dust.

Whether it is in drugs, in God, in the club, our actions represent the "correctness" of our decision, whether they're adjudged moral or immoral. We all seek peace.

Everyday gets me asking, "What's the essence of living and for what am I really here to do."

Tomorrow and today, I see no difference.

The sun and the moon just exchanged batons. The difference will be seen in a few months from today when the anointing oils drank and smeared will settle into pores of human skins.

Sort:  

Nice nice :)

Thanks a lot, dear.

My reservations every yuletide season, especially the new year.

I tell people its just a new day.

Great Post.

Thanks a lot, dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51