Is there peace

in #davison7 years ago

Is there peace
If I am dreaming don’t wake me up,
if it’s a lie then don’t tell me the truth.
I have been in the dark for so long,
I am afraid your light will hurt me more.
I have learnt to live surrounded by all these hardships.
Is there peace in this world?
Does it exist?
Was it ever there?
I was born in these oppressive situations,
I am afraid of the freedom many are preaching,
I have seen many suffering in those peaceful environments,
Races turning against one another in the name of peace
People going against the wills of nature in name of rights to have this and that,
I love these oppressors,
For they taught me to follow the harsh reality of life,
I have known no other peace than this
Don’t wake me up
Don’t tell me the truth.

Sort:  

Ummmm so touching.How we learn to live the hard way.Not because we are born like that, but existence has given us no other choice other than difficulties.I am adding you poem to my collections for reread...this is good.

thank you man...the system we live in has conditioned us to normalise the arbnormal

Congratulations @davison! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The environment we live in always shape our way of life, the resistance the struggle we face and how we deal with them is always a result of how one has seen other deal with similar situations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56544.71
ETH 3000.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17