Translator application for DaVinci Witness Project

in #davinci-application6 years ago (edited)


Image courtesy of @pab.ink through discordapp.net



Hello, as you probably know I come by the nickname @trumpman! I've been on Steemit for about a year now and unlike other applicants I will abstain from sharing much info about my personal life. All I will say, since I am applying for the position of Greek translator, is that I am (I think!) a fluent speaker in Greek which is my mother tongue and English. True, as you are about to hear my accent is not that good but I doubt this matters much. 

I don't have any experience with utopian-io per se, but I have done all kinds of translations in the past (English to Greek and Greek to English) as a freelancer so I think I am a good fit for the "job". I can't think of anything else meaningful to add so let's proceed with the Greek part of the application :)



Καλησπέρα, όπως μάλλον ήδη γνωρίζεται κυκλοφορώ με το ψευδώνυμο @trumpman. Είμαι μέλος στο steemit εδώ και περίπου ένα χρόνο και σε αντιθεση με άλλους υποψήφιους θα αποφύγω να μοιραστώ πολλές λεπτομέρειες για τη προσωπική μου ζωή. Το μόνο που θα πω, μιας και υποβάλλω αίτηση για τη θέση του μεταφραστή, είναι ότι μιλάω με μεγάλη ευχέρεια  (έτσι πιστεύω) τα ελληνικά που είναι η μητρική μου γλώσσα και τα αγγλικά. Βέβαια η προφορά μου είναι λίγο χάλια αλλά στη συγκεκριμένη περίπτωση νομίζω ότι είναι ανευ σημασίας. 

H εμπειρία μου οσον αφορά το utopian-io είναι μηδενική αλλά στο παρελθόν έχω κάνει παντός είδους μεταφράσεις (αγγλικά στα ελληνικά και ελληνικά στα αγγλικά) ως freelancer και έτσι πιστεύω είμαι κατάλληλος για τη "θέση" . Δε μπορώ να σκεφτώ κάτι άλλο αξιοσημείωτο οπότε ας προχωρήσουμε και στην ηχογράφηση...



 Click Here To Listen to the English & Greek version on soundcloud
 



Sort:  

Hey Bud!!!!
I finally got to hear your voice!!!!
You have a heavy accent, WOW and sound really professional:)
Congrats on your new position!!!!

Me? Sound professional? Thanks for making my day 😂😂😂😂

I think you missed the sing-a-song rule!! Please update your post with a new recording of you doing a Maria Kalas cover :P

I strongly support this nomination! <3

Thank you very much 😁

I hate reading Greek when* there’s a random non-Greek word in there. I’m not calling you out on it or criticizing you, as I’m assuming it’s just the “norm”. The word I’m referring to here is “freelancer”. Is there no equivalent in Greek? Or is it just not commonly/typically used anymore?

Good luck with your application, I’m looking forward to hearing you speak English.

I’m also curious to hear other's opinions on this as well.

Νιωθεις την παραφωνια να αντηχει στο κειμενο, ε;

Καποιες λεξεις που τις εχουμε συνηθισει (βλ, καλοριφερ, πορτ μπαγκαζ, τηλεκοντρολ) δεν χτυπανε περιεργα στο αυτι (τουλαχιστον στο δικο μου). Τωρα οσον αφορα καποιες λεξεις που επιτηδες χρησιμοποιουμε ενω υπαρχει καλλιστα η ελληνικη αντιστοιχη που δεν ειναι ενα μακρυναρι να που σε δυσκολευει, θεωρω πως ειναι οβερ δε τοπ και πριτενσιους (πες κινητο η εστω τηλεφωνο αντι για γαμω σμαρτφοουν)
Το προβλημα ειναι οταν χρησιμοποιεις 2 γλωσσες οποτε και σου βγαινει η δευτερη αντι της ελληνικης αυθορμητα, αλλα εκει ειναι καθαρα θεμα εμπειριας προσωπικης (αλλωστε παντα πρεπει να εχουμε στο νου μας και το γλωσσικο background του καθενος - see what I did there?)
Παρολα αυτα, οταν ακουω ελληνικες λεξεις σε ξενες γλωσσες με πιανει μια κρυφη ψωρο-υπερηφανια :)
(Και τωρα θυμηθηκα πως δεν εχω διαβασει ποτε το λογο του Ζολωτα, κακως)

Not really specifically here because of the context but it reminded me of it... I’m doing my best to learn Greek better. There are plenty of words I don’t know. So it’s just weird when I hear Greek people using foreign words in everyday speech. I’m familiar and even use words like “καλοριφερ, πορτ μπαγκαζ, τηλεκοντρολ” as you mentioned. And I use them without thinking about how they’re from foreign language because I’m used to them. But it’s all relative and based on experience perception. Once I get used to hearing people using words I used them too like “ιντερνετ, φέισμπουκ, γκουγκλάρω»

Κοιτα λογικά υπάρχει κάποια λέξη αλλά υποθέτω θα ακούγεται περίεργα όπως π.χ το cd που είναι "οπτικοακουστικός δίσκος" η κάτι τέτοιο :p

Why you hate reading greek? 😁

Είμαι περίεργος μάλλον και θα μ’άρεσε να το γράφανε το ΣίΝτι: «οπτικοακουστικός δίσκος» η ΟΔ.

Όπως κ βέβαια δεν μ’αρέσει πως οι πούστηδες οι πολιτικοί δεν έχουν τα αρχιδια να πούνε στους κολο σκοπιους να πάνε να γαμ*θουνε.

Sorry I think I went slightly off topic... and clearly I wouldn’t be a good candidate for the Davinci project.

Lol I don’t hate reading Greek. Stopping using (or ignoring) the context against me.

Ouuupsss sorry my bad, I guess I read that too fast and got the context wrong 😂😂

I also edited it after you said that. No worries.

good luck mate.

me to kalo! makari na se epileksou!

Με το ΣΥΡΙΖΑ η επιτυχία είναι δεδομένη!

Και η Μακεδονια μας χαμενη!

Τσίπρας ολε! :P (να το βαλει εκει που ξερει!) μονο

image-d2f8bd4874b46dd9eb0b06304fe24abbf449bb769dd3a9e4e91d591f78becdaa-V.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13