Application Post - to work as Translator for DaVinci Witness Project | Utopian [English-Portuguese]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #davinci-application6 years ago (edited)

Source - made by @pab.ink

My name is Leonardo, but you can call me Leo, if that’s ok. I’m 32 years old. I have a degree in History from the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC) and at this moment I'm in the second year of my master's degree, also in History from the same university. Before I started my degree in history, I studied Graphic Design for 2 years, between 2005 and 2006. About 4 years after that, I studied philosophy for another 2 years at the same university mentioned above. Today, I look at myself as a medievalist and researcher on Women History in the Middle Ages, with focus on Christine de Pizan from the early 15th century and her construction of a place of expression and authorship through power relations. In my research, I also aim at translating some of the documents that I have been using as historical sources.

In 2007 I moved from Brazil to the US to study English. And I lived for two years in Miami. There, I took classes in a teaching modality called English as a Second Language - ESL. I studied at Open Hearts International College, today it’s been called OHLA - Open Hearts Language Academy.

After I finished the course, I received the certificate that is in the picture below. The experience I have acquired in studying English in the United States helped me to build a completely different relationship with the language as I had when I studied it only in Brazil. The everyday social interaction that I could achieve by spending more time with English speakers. It allowed me to understand the culture that we hardly learn spending only a couple of hours per week speaking English.

A friend of mine, with whom I have shared my apartment for over five years, is getting his Ph.D. in Translation Studies. I have asked him every time I get some doubts about English translations.

Also, I found out about blockchain at this year, so I discovered that I am a technology enthusiast. I fell in love even more by the Steemit platform. Every day I have been learning so much about this new world called cryptocurrency, especially with the Steemit and its projects have been developed in the blockchain.

For these reasons, I believe I’m able to contribute to the team of translators of the Portuguese language in DaVinci Witness Project.

Thank you very much for your time.
I look forward to contributing to the Project as soon as possible.

Meu nome é Leonardo, mas prefiro que me chamem de Leo, tudo bem? Eu tenho 32 anos, tenho graduação em História e estou no segundo ano do mestrado em História na Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC). Antes de começar a graduação em história, eu cursei 2 anos de design gráfico, entre 2005 e 2006. Eu também estudei mais 2 anos de filosofia na mesma universidade. Hoje, me considero um medievalista e pesquisador da história das mulheres intelectuais na Idade Média, com ênfase em Christine de Pizan no começo do século XV e sua construção de um espaço de expressão e autoria através das relações de poder. Em minha pesquisa, também pretendo traduzir parte dos documentos que estou utilizando como fontes históricas.

Em 2007 me mudei do Brasil para os Estados Unidos para estudar inglês. E passei dois anos em Miami. Com isso, cursei uma modalidade de ensino chamada de English as a Second Language - ESL. Estudei no Open Hearts International College, hoje chamado OHLA - Open Hearts Language Academy.

Após o curso, recebi o certificado que está na imagem abaixo. A experiência que tive ao estudar inglês nos Estados Unidos, contribuiu para que eu construísse uma relação completamente diferente com a língua, da que eu tinha quando a estudava apenas no Brasil. Toda a interação social do dia-a-dia que só conseguimos ao passar um tempo com falantes da língua inglesa, me possibilitou compreender alguns contextos culturais que dificilmente aprendemos apenas poucas horas semanais em contato com a língua.

Um amigo, com quem divido o apartamento há mais de 5 anos, está cursando hoje o doutorado em Estudos da Tradução na UFSC. Sempre que preciso recorro a ele para tirar algumas dúvidas sobre traduções em inglês.

Além disso, conheci apenas este ano o que é blockchain, com isso descobri que sou um entusiasta da tecnologia. Me apaixonei ainda mais pela plataforma da Steemit. A cada dia aprendo muito sobre esse universo das criptomoedas, principalmente sobre a Steem e os projetos que são desenvolvidos em sua blockchain.

Por esses motivos eu acredito ter muito a contribuir à equipe de tradutores da língua portuguesa no DaVinci Witness Project.

Desde já agradeço sua atenção com a leitura e espero ansiosamente poder começar a contribuir com o Projeto.





Assinatura Leo

Sort:  

Hi @leodelara!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.537 which ranks you at #34974 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 34972).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 441 contributions, your post is ranked at #348.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85