my two dates

in #dating6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7007.JPG

R has a new girlfriend and a new life. I felt slightly devastated and proceeded to delete more photos of our past life together. Fortunately, I wasn't a complete puddle. I had fit in two consecutive dates during my thanksgiving holiday.

One was a "boyfriend" from when I was 14. Does he count as an official boyfriend? He apologized for being unaware and ungrateful of my awesomeness. I told him that I still have the skateboard he gave me. He still skateboards. And he still has the first car he ever loved, Betsy, and still drives her. A 1970 International Scout. I asked him to send me a photo so I can show you what I learned to drive in without my mom's permission. He caused a few gray hairs on my poor mom.

Betsy!

IMG_7025.JPG

P grew up to be a good man. I'm happy for the life he built. He's travelled the world on various assignments. The kid who signed his letters semper fi is now a man and I'm proud of him.

Date number two, R, was someone who I had known from high school. He was also very sweet and shared his memories of me. I didn't know anyone noticed me. I was usually in a piano room by myself. He was and is still part of the surfers clique. Now, they get together to play poker.

I had a refreshingly good time on both occasions. Friendship is so underrated. I felt safe and comfortable. There was a lot to catch up on. We laughed and shared funny awkward dating stories. And their compliments and words of admiration landed in a way that I guess friendship allows. My string of past several dates came on strong if not a bit frightening. With zero friendship established, strangers meeting me for their first dates, had decided my future with them. Bam! Just like that! They wanted a committed relationship straightaway. Compliments had a creepy landing and seemed to mostly promise a life in a gilded cage. Who does that??? I seem to find guys who like planning weddings and children on first dates.

Instead, R and P wanted to plan a fun second date. One wanted to take me salsa dancing. The other one wanted to cook for me and introduce me to his favorite Japanese whiskeys. I chose to decline. I had family I wanted to enjoy during my visit. I had some Super Mario Cart chops to show off to my nephew. While I have rockstar status in his eyes, I want to show up. How much longer will my eight year old nephew ask that I play with him? They were understanding.

I wish my dates were as pleasant experiences in Los Angeles. I never get a sense that my prospectives wanted to even befriend me though they immediately want to begin a serious relationship.

Friendship is underrated.

Have we grown to be a society where the compliment and interest of a stranger has more value than a friend?

Grow friendships.

JNET

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jnetsworld! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jnetsworld! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83