Polyamry - what I've learned, and why it's NOT just mormons with 80 wives.

in #dating7 years ago



I started dating someone new and they've introduced me to the "poly" type lifestyle. And man - do I know jack shit about it or WHAT! 

But...

Here's what I've Learned So Far

  • Jealousy rules some peoples lives. Control over someone doesn't equal love.
  • You can spread your love to others. Friends, girlfriends, partners - it can all be a big foggy gray area.
  • Distrust and lies can be more of an issue than the actual act of having sex with someone else
  • Don't feel obligated to dedicate yourself to one person early on and limit your options.
  • Being happy for someone else, with compersion, is a selfless act
  • Polygamy is NOT polyamory
  • One person canNOT be everything to someone. I've never had this happen. The whole "every girl I meet has part of what I want." Maybe that's not a problem.
  • Don't let posessiveness, negativity, and hate rule your love life. I've known some people who forbade their girlfriend from talking to or being friends with other guys. Not only is that controlling and borderline abusive, but how would that make someone happy?
  • "No one belongs to everyone and love is not finite" 
  • "Love is not a prize with a winner"

Does anyone find their insecurities are magnified when they're dating, starting to date, or deciding on a partner?

Would love to know in the comments down below!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64