The recent windows ten update

in #data6 years ago

After I updated my windows ten to the new update released a few days ago, I noticed something. I was getting ads again for Microsoft products. I was disturbed because I thought I had turned off all of this. However, after I dug into the windows ten settings I noticed that all of my settings were changed, in favor of collecting all of my data.

This is not only troubling because it implies Microsoft deliberately changes everyone's settings back to the surveillance model but also because I only became aware of it through Microsoft ads. At the least Microsoft should tell you they are altering your settings. For some people working in sensitive professions this might actually be a huge liability issue for them.

But anyways, in researching this issue I discovered a nifty little application that lets you disable all of the annoying, data harvesting features Windows 10 updates drag along with it.

It's called O&OShutUp10.

It allows you to take control of your windows settings with ease. By using a very simple interface it allows you to decide which functions you wish to disable to persevere your privacy. It further saves a system restore for you so if you wish to go back, you can. This app is entirely free to use and can be found here.

Picture of the users interface:

I'd highly recommend checking your settings and using the above software if you are a privacy ordained person.

Some suggested reading:

https://www.zdnet.com/article/windows-10-telemetry-secrets/

https://www.theverge.com/2018/1/24/16927056/microsoft-windows-10-data-collection-viewer-privacy

https://www.zdnet.com/article/take-control-of-your-privacy-in-windows-10/

https://medium.freecodecamp.org/tor-signal-and-beyond-a-law-abiding-citizens-guide-to-privacy-1a593f2104c3

Anyways, Thanks for reading. I hope you have a great rest of the week! And I just wanted to share something with my followers.

Thanks for reading! Don't forget to upvote and reblog. Follow for more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41