Why is Monero up so much today?

in #dash8 years ago (edited)

Monero up 26 percent today.

Usually this means an announcement is coming. Does anyone know what it is?

It can't be the merkle article alone can it?

It still seems like dash is the leader here but monero might be ready to take the crown as preferred anonymous cryptocurrency.

Sort:  

Thanks for posting but not sure that's the answer either.

Probably because a couple of Darknet Markets started using Monero today in addition to Bitcoin.

I believe Alphabay and Dream. I'd have to check Reddit to be sure. www.reddit.com/darknetmarkets

I was going to vote on this but then I noticed #dash tag. How is this related to Dash?

Monero and dash are the two anonymous crypto currencies. I always think news on one is news on the other. But I should have said something on dash. I own much more dash than monero but I follow news on both.

No idea. I was kind of expecting a pump-and-dump scenario, but I guess we'll see.

Not really related but I think you might be interested i this post on how to get a Steem-sbd pair
https://steemit.com/steem-ideas/@dennygalindo/let-s-get-a-steem-sbd-pair-on-bittrex

Yeah, maybe not directly related, but it is an interesting idea based on the conversion process.

it's up 30.57% now
chart

I bought a bit of XMR last week sensing the new interest, for whatever reason. I see no reason to favor XMR over DSH at this point and acting accordingly.

Agree but it's nice to have the two competing. Big will be better ala Uber lfyt.

Probably a pump group or a bunch of whales decided to make a move. There isn't always an obvious reason.

''Leading Dark Net Markets to Support Monero''
https://news.bitcoin.com/leading-dark-net-markets-support-monero/

Two major deep web markets just announced integration with Monero. Two more pending apparently. Check www.reddit.com/r/darknetmarkets

Yeh it is crazy. Seems to slow down now. Still no real dump

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94