Darmstadt - I'm A Heiner

in #darmstadt6 years ago (edited)

During my teenage years, I lived in Darmstadt, a city which sits in the shadow of the metropolis of Frankfurt. I had a comfortable life there, with my friends and family close by. But once I had obtained my degree, I got an itch and the irresistible compulsion to scratch it. It was a desire to break out of the life that had been laid out in front of me... and the urge was a strong one.

Darmstadt Blog

So I applied to be an Au Pair in the United States, when I was 21. And the rest is history. For many years, I didn't reminisce much about Darmstadt and certainly didn't miss it. My new life was too exciting! I returned rather frequently, but still never felt much of a connection to my hometown... until recently. Nearly 15 years after having left, I feel like I'm finally starting to warm up to Darmstadt and the area which surrounds it. The last couple times I returned, I found myself shocked by the beauty of these places, and surprised that I hadn't allowed myself to see it for so many years. Two years ago, I went back to Mühltal, a tiny town where I spent my teenage years. I hadn't visited in over a decade, and I was blown away by the old architecture and the natural surroundings.

Darmstadt Gif

But today’s post is about Darmstadt. My mom and brother still live there, and I try to see them once year if possible. This is the fourth largest city in the state of Hesse and is right now going through a boom, thanks to the Brexit and its proximity to Frankfurt, Germany's finance capital.

Darmstadt

When in town I always make an effort to go to one of the many breweries to have beer and Schnitzel, and to walk through the city center, across the Marktplatz and through the Schloss, the old city castle. And of course I can’t miss the Luisenplatz, which is basically the center of town. But during my last recent visit I took time to explore the Mathildenhöhe, with its Wedding Tower -- also known as the "Five Finger Tower" (Fünffingerturm), because of its likeness to a human hand. I even took the elevator up inside the Wedding Tower to enjoy the view over the city... something I hadn't done since elementary school.

Darmstadt Blog

After taking in the view I walked around the artist colony which surrounds the Mathildenhöhe. It was such a pleasant and beautiful day. There was a little Biergarten, people were playing bocce ball, and I came upon the Russian Chapel, with its domes covered in gold leaf, I even got to take a sneak peak inside. And then I came across something I'd only previously seen in pictures: the backside of the Museum Künstlerkolonie. From pictures, it always reminded me of the two oracles from the Neverending Story. When I saw it, I couldn’t believe it I hadn’t noticed it before. Someone later told me that trees and bushes had recently been removed to make the statues more visible.

I couldn’t have been more happy with this day, and it only got better at the evening when we had a little Steemit meet-up with @fraenk, @tashidelek and @pharesim

P.S. Everyone who was born in Darmstadt is called a Heiner.

More Photos Of Darmstadt

Darmstadt




















































Steemit Travel Blog

Travel Blog

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://for91days.com/blog/2018/08/30/darmstadt-im-a-heiner/

Sort:  

This is an awesome post Juergen! We always drive by Darmstadt on the way to the Netherlands but we never went to the city. We will have to go and have a look!

Thank you for sharing!

Now yo know where I'm from :) and you have a reason to take a stop from zipping by on the A5 :)

I think you are lucky to come from such a lovely place... and I'm glad you're enjoying it now! And we got to enjoy it too! Beautiful photographs!! Nothing beats European architecture, all through the ages... I am simple, my favourite? The little water sprout! :)

your all the photographs are awesome...
i like your photography..

It looks like an old city and indeed this city is so beautiful with it old decoration @for91days. Have a great day

Congratulations @for91days! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

Hi @for91days!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your UA account score is currently 4.095 which ranks you at #3052 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has risen 12 places in the last three days (Your UA has improved by 0.000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 204 contributions, your post is ranked at #81.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=for91days
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=darmstadt-imaheiner-u7qsqtenw0


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #314. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18