I build the castle and I don't like the bricks...

in #dark6 years ago

So I did a thing that I've never done before recently...

I traveled outside of my state ALONE!!!

to most people this is probably not a big deal, but for me it was one of the SCARIEST, most LONELY things I've ever done. And for me this is a huge deal. I've never traveled anywhere for vacation or for my own enjoyment, and so far I still haven't :) It was for work, and because the project was very specific, I mainly only worked while I was out there.

So there was a person that needed to be walked through, or prepared for the windows environment. (Note in this office everyone is basically using Mac computers)

More importantly I was in New York for 3 days.

THREE WHOLE DAYS ALONE!

I don't think I've ever been alone that long. So to be honest I was shaken by the request to travel for this project. the thought of being in a quiet room, in a place I didn't recognize was dreadful. Everytime I opened a door, I would turn on the light and look around the corners of my room for foreign entities. It was weird but that feeling quickly washed away after my first night.

I learned an important thing on that trip.

I am normally alone... Not like no one is around alone, more like I don't really talk to people.

I generally get up in the morning walk to a bus and ride to the office within a 3 to 4 hour period without talking to a soul. I see my friends once every two to three weeks for the most part. I spend a great deal of time void of any interaction until I get home from work.

I cherish the time with my family, but even then I don't share too much of myself with anyone. In fact this platform has become a much needed outlet for a quick vent or to bleed out a stream of thought.

The thing I fear, I surround myself with...

The very think that feels so wrong, seems to be commonplace.

I didn't know that until I was forced in a situation in which I would be completely alone.

Humans are resilient things, in the quiet darkness we can reconcile the worst feelings to survive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34