Does anyone have experience with the Dark Web?

in #dark8 years ago


Image source

I just want to ask if anyone on Steemit has any experience with the Dark Net. I find that a lot of people on Steemit have a huge problem with the government, so that is why I am asking. Please leave a comment if you have experience with the following topics. I am interested in hearing from people.

  • The Deep Web
  • The Dark Web
  • Tor
  • (computer -> VPN -> Tor -> VPN -> dark web) connection
  • The Silk Road
  • Online political protests/activism
  • Getting caught doing any of this
Sort:  

I visited the Silk Road before it was shutdown.

Care to elaborate?

I have observed a lot of this from an academic interest (cybercrime)

  • I used both Tor and Tor2web (allows you to browse .onion sites from your normal web browser)
  • I have surfed a lot of the black markets; drugs are the most common item sold, although money exchanges of various sorts, and aids to fraud were also sold.
  • I bought some pdfs on AlphaBay (I think, might have been Dream Market) regarding fraud methods. Searching the normal web would get you the same methods over time
  • I gained a lot of information on privacy methods (especially VPN configs) from surfing the forums on these black markets. The forum at Silk Road 1 was a goldmine of privacy knowledge before Silk Road got closed down.
  • I haven't seen a lot of difference between Dark Web forums and such sites as 4chan and the old Zoklet Bad Ideas forums on the surface web.
  • Reddit has some subforums dedicated to most of the ideas you have broached, including the addresses of various black markets
  • Most of the activists sites were mirrored on the surface web.

Hope that helps!

That's interesting, thanks!

I found several tutorials on the darknet on YouTube. Try it out

I've seen some. I'm more looking for different personal experiences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48