Nightmares

in #dark6 years ago

A shadow overhanging creeps
Much closer than before
seems filling every crack and crease
comes even from the floor
My haunting thought with every breath
Reminds of worthlessness
And each color fading flees away
from brilliant blue to clouded grey
the sky glooms overhead
the sun seems dying drying
drips of noxious death unfolds
'twil not be like before
my chest compressing every breath
and silent wails unheard
my cage is locked I cannot flee,
trapped like hapless bird
I cry out desparation's cry
no passerby to see
and life goes on too tired to run
and looking on I see
Rich lush green pastures for other flock
and sun so vibrant shines
but others over look my plight
For freedom do I pine.

-Michael Newberry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64