Dapps for the Everyday User

in #dappstore5 years ago (edited)

dAppstore YouTube Cover Photo.jpg

As an everyday user who is completely new to the Web 3.0 technology, it was easy to see why Dapps (Decentralized Applications) have not had great success in penetrating the mass market. For one, there were no clear explanations on how these Dapps work. When I tried to actually play a Dapp game, I was turned off by the complexity of the process. I had to first install Chrome extensions before I can set up my game wallet. This entailed writing down a mnemonic phrase which I found to be quite lengthy and tiresome. All these extra steps make for an unfavorable user experience that has no doubt led to the low rates of adoption for Dapps.

I continued to google and research about Dapps and came across a company called Decenternet. They had recently launched their native Web 3.0 browser called Osiris. Osiris is a free browser that was developed to work with other decentralized platforms, and is currently available for Windows, Android & iOS.

Screen Shot 2019-10-21 at 2.22.30 PM.png

One of its recent enhancement was the addition of its dAppstore (Decentralized App Store). This really piqued my interest, so I decided to download the Osiris browser for myself. To my complete surprise, I was actually able to get set up within minutes. The set-up process was fairly simple and straightforward. Once I opened the browser, all I had to do was:

  1. Set up my web wallet (or what they call “Spyce” wallet);
  2. Sign up for a dAppstore account;
  3. Choose the game that I want to play (in this particular case, I chose “CryptoKitties”) and link my web wallet to the game wallet;
  4. Start playing.

Screen Shot 2019-10-21 at 2.28.05 PM.png

Since dAppstore is still in its beta stage, some of the features are yet to be enabled, one of which is their rewards program. According to company officials, users can earn dAppstore points whenever they create, play, share or use Dapps. These points can in turn be converted and cashed out by the user. This goes hand-in-hand with their “PLAY-TO-EARN” slogan. The concept itself sounds good so I’d love to see how this will play out once it goes live. All in all, I had a good experience with dAppstore.

For now, the dAppstore is only available in the Osiris browser for Windows. (Download here) However, company executives have confirmed that the Android and iOS versions are already in the works. For someone like me who’s always out and about, I’d much prefer using the mobile version once it’s available.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30