In The Reflection of DAO

in #dao5 years ago

 

source

In The Reflection of DAO

It’s officially been 3 months since I began my exploration of the DAO universe, and in such a short period of time I’ve managed to comfortably immerse myself into a variety of decentralized communities.

The lessons I’ve taken away have been insightful to say the least. I’ve seen internal conflict arise, witnessed its resolution, learned about the dynamics of diverse individuals in virtual ecosystems and participated in organizing DAO workshops, proposing, voting and being awarded funding for my participation. It’s all been very exciting, but at the same time overwhelming and eyeopening.

My whole life I’ve been involved in communities of some form or another. I grew up in a housing co-op in downtown Toronto, participated in youth exchange programs, one of which took me to Indonesia, not to mention the 3 different Hip Hop crews I’ve helmed since the mid 90’s. After establishing niche Hip Hop communities in South East Asia in 2008, I ventured into the Blockchain space in 2018 on a mission to bring these two worlds together, which failed miserably.

All these experiences have required me to wear many different hats, and through their challenges have refined my skills of observation, so that when I started examining DAO communities I used my battle-tested approach to create more informed decisions moving forward.

One thing I realized about the DAO is that it can be shaped and molded to fit the needs of the people using it, which means that implementing the decentralization element can be DAO-specific and defined according its pillars or mission statement, this is what excites me the most.

See, I’ve been searching for a way to define and implement my vision for quite some time and it’s been no easy task. Since the inception of DAOrecords it’s all falling into place, like the timing is finally right to embark on this mission of empowering communities through music, art and culture, and harness the key technological innovations to make it happen.

The DAOrecords Approach

In the coming weeks I aim to go into more detail about the approach that we plan to take with DAOrecords when it comes to implementing a DAO, its governance structure and how we want it to build a bridge between the traditional Web2 industry and the fast evolving Web3 ecosystem.

In the past month alone we have identified a number of amazing projects we hope to integrate, if not learn from or improve on. Not to mentioned the inroads we have already made in the various community niches, including experiments we are testing and collaborations which are getting underway. I’m happy to report that we are definitely excited for what lies ahead.

The road to decentralization has many paths with just as many obstacles, because ultimately, people are people and will use the tools at their disposal differently. Even without decentralization, communities continue to face identity crises as they evolve. With this in mind our plan is to find the optimal balance between dependence and independence, and through trust, settle on a flexible, defined and interdependent model that best serves our mission.

A Call To Action

If you’re a musician, artist, cultural curator or interested in collaborating (getting involved) in the DAOrecords community I’d like to invite you to our Discord Server, where we can have a more interactive discussion and build a better future for the music industry that is mutually beneficial to all.

Yours Truly,
Vandal

This post can also be found on our cent profile and our blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75