Raksha Wisdom - Ballet

in #dancing7 years ago

Ballet huh?

Image Credit

So according to my husband I have 28 years of experience in life and I should share that wisdom.

The first topic I have is Ballet:

Lets start with the different types of methods you get here in South Africa.

  1. Cecchetti: this method is the one I have trained in since I was about 8. I find it to be the most demanding, beautiful and appealing to the eye. It was created by an Italian master Enrico Cecchetti with the help of Hilton's law of anatomy.

  2. RAD (Royal Academy of Dance): this method I feel focuses on the dancers strength through simplicity and basics. The method is created in London England with a group of dancers around the dinner table.

  3. DASA (Dance Academy of South Africa): this method is a more diverse syllabi as the main focus is technique, there after comes the style knowledge and application. The method was created by Mary-Jane Ford.

Some tips for your first day.

Image Credit

  • Don't expect too much: It's your first day see if you like the teacher before worrying about anything else.

  • It's not about the money: Don't focus on buying all the fancy shoes and tights right now, wait until you know ballet is for you.

  • You need to want it: I cannot stress the importance of wanting to dance, there is nothing worse than a child's sprit being broken by being made to do something that is not essential to their individual happiness. Ballet is not for everyone.

  • Take water: Though ballet can be a lot of fun, it has a fair amount of pain. Taking a bottle of water allows you to keep hydrated and lets you catch your breath before stating another set of Sautés.

  • Have Fun: Ballet though structured and demanding will provide an escape and a freedom of movement few can understand. Listen, learn and take what you are given and use it.

To be one step a head, here are the feet positions for every dancer.

Image Credit

Sort:  

Puh , even chachacha gets me frustrated, im just not a dancer. :D

Welcome to Steem Community @cherryblossom-sa! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

A very good post. I know it has some fair amount of pain, but it's one that you'll not really consider as pain, being that you know it's for a greater good, just like the stress you experience while hitting the gym. Ballet amazes me. Tanx for writing on such a rare topic.

@cherryblossom-sa Well done for sticking at it! Love it. Followed..

Loved the post. Looking forward to more content! Hope you have a good time here.

Thanx will defiantly be posting more...

So relate to this if ballet is not for you, then it's just not for you. I danced for 8 years and I found that I love ballet but it just wasn't crucial to my schedule. Don't worry I miss it a lot and totally want to get back into it. Anyways Welcome to Steemit!

I understand completely, I danced for close to 15 years, taught for about 4 of those years. I still miss it. Find myself standing in positions, doing movements in lines or when I am waiting for something. Hopefully my daughter will find the love for it, she already can point her toes and tries to jump and spin its very beautiful.

Great Article. Thanks for this awesome post. upvoted and followed.

Thank you, look out for more to follow.

I dunno why I read the entire article when I don't even want to learn ballet but I guess your writing was so perfect that it glued my eyes to the screen. Thanks for this awesome post! Upvoted.

Wow than you for the kind words really appreciate it. :)

thanks for joining at steemit.com

please enjoy your stay

thanks for sharing

p.s

mrblu..

Great ...👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53