What's your favorite Cover-Song? [Win SBD]

in #danceweekend7 years ago

Dear #danceweekend fans,

I've got a huge crush for cover-songs. Particularly if the cover allows a whole new listening experience and you can discover a song in a completely new way.

Here are some of my favorites:


Marilyn Manson - Sweet Dreams


Senor Coconut - Smoke on the Water


Mary Poppins Sings Death Metal


Paul Anka - Smells like teen spirit


Please add your favorite cover-song in the comments!

It would be great, if you make it a youtube or vimeo link, so that we can listen, dance and discuss right here.

Price giveaway!

This time I'm giving away 5 SBDs in total (from my own pocket). 3 SBDs for the comment, that I think the community liked most, 1.5 SBD for 2nd place and 0.5 SBD for the 3rd place.

All styles and genres are welcome! Thanks for listening & taking part!

@shortcut


P.S.: Kudos to @uwelang for introducing the #danceweekend tag to the community - Enjoy your holidays!
Sort:  

Coming around a little late but here are a few fun covers...

Black Sabbath's War Pigs on Trombone by Alice Donut

The Eagles Hotel California on Moog by Moog Cookbook

Wow, cool! Great additions. Thanks for jumping on the train. I like them both :-)

Congrats! You made the 3rd place in the #danceweekend contest :-) Just sent you 0.5 sbd

They are more lipsyncing than actually covering the songs, but its fun to watch without doubt. Thanks for sharing!

You are right. Here's a correction:

Ahh, cool - thanks for adding this one. I like.

Start with the best song, add the best musicians and you don't have to look further:

Tool -no quarter

An original runner up:

Dopethrone -ain't no sunshine

And the totally unexpected:

Behemoth -freezing moon

Three good covers. Three different genres. I like them all.

Wow, great selection. Thanks for your attribution. Listening right now...

I agree with your order (as Tool is one of my favorite bands), the"ain't no sunshine" - cover is half YEAH! and half LOL :-) and the last one is cool, too. I just didn't know the original version, so it's a bit difficult to judge. Thanks again, I really enjoyed all of the songs!

2nd on Tool (as amazing band and amazing cover)
I've had Parabola going through my head all morning in fact.

I also like the approach of Easy Star All Stars. They cover whole albums in Reggae/Dub style. Like this:


or this one:

I also really love this (completely different version) of Black Hole Sun:


Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme - Black Hole Sun

Here is the original version by Soundgarden:

How about this?

Nouvelle Vague - Too Drunk To Fuck

Moog Cookbook has got you covered on Blackhole Sun too -- another very different kind of cover

of course to round that out, we could also link the Richard Cheese version as well :)

Nice versions, the song is really eligible for being covered.

This is really amazing. Be sure to listen till the end!


les reines prochaines - opfer dieses liedes (whicked games cover)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65