DanceWeekend - Piece of My Heart

in #danceweekend6 years ago


Erma Franklin - Piece of My Heart


Hello,

Did you know Aretha Franklin had a sister named Erma? And that she has been covered by Janis Joplin. Janis Joplin is one of my favorite singers. Some like Kesha, I like Janis Joplin, and it's just a matter of taste.

The song whom I speak about is one of my favourites and it is one of the few cases where the cover is better than the original. I'm talking about Piece of My Heart, a song that is definable for soul as well as blues.

The song was written by Jerry Ragovoy and Bert Berns. The two have written songs for Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Elvis and many other big names in music history.

Erma Franklin had recorded it in 1967:


Hallo,

wusstet ihr das Aretha Franklin eine Schwester Namens Erma hatte? Und das diese von Janis Joplin gecovert worden ist. Janis Joplin ist eine von meinen Lieblings Sängerinnen. Einige hier mögen Kesha, ich mag eher Janis Joplin, es ist einfach nur Geschmacks Sache.

Das Lied wo von ich spreche Möchte finde ich sehr gut und ist einer der wenige Fälle wo das Cover besser ist als das Original. Ich spreche über Piece of My Heart, ein Lied das für Soul und auch für Blues definierbar ist.

Das Lied wurde von Jerry Ragovoy und Bert Berns geschrieben. Die beiden haben Lieder für Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Elvis und sehr viele andere große Namen der Musik Geschichte geschrieben.

Erma Franklin hatte es 1967 aufgenommen:



Erma Franklin - Piece Of My Heart


In 1969 the version of Big Brother and the Holding Company was published. The voice is that of Janis Joplin, who was the band's voice at the time. I think it's the best version of all.


1969 wurde die Version von Big Brother and the Holding Company veröffentlicht. Die Stimme ist die von Janis Joplin, die zu dem Zeitpunkt die Stimme der Band war. Ich finde es ist die beste Version von allen.



Big Brother and the Holding Company (Janis Joplin vocal) - Piece of My Heart


Another great voice that interpreted the song was Dusty Springfield also in 1968. I also like this version, but this somehow lacks the power.


Eine andere große Stimme die das Lied interpretiert hat war Dusty Springfield auch in 1968. Die Version finde ich auch gut, wobei irgendwie die Kraft fehlt.



Dusty Springfield - Piece Of My Heart


Faith Hill has also recorded a version. Here I do not want to say because Country is not my music style.


Faith Hill hat auch eine Version aufgenommen. Hier möchte ich nicht sagen, weil Country nicht meine Musik Richtung ist.



Faith Hill - Piece Of My Heart


Mary J. Blige can sing a lot of different styles, this song also. Through her long career, Mary J. Blige has proven to us many times that she knows many music styles which she can sing.


Mary J. Blige kann vieles singen, dieses Lied auch. Durch ihre lange Kariere, Mary J. Blige hat uns etliche male bewiesen das sie viele Musik Richtungen kennt und auch singen kann.



Mary J. Blige - Piece Of My Heart


Joss Jones returns to soul that was in the original version. Janis had switched it to blues.


Joss Jones gibt wieder den Soul zurück das man in der Original Version hatte. Janis hatte es auf Blues umgestellt.



Joss Stone - Piece Of My Heart



discord.gif

Sort:  

Wow..I like music.

I appreciate your post.
Thanks for sharing this history

Best of luck

Es ist immer wieder schön, wenn so alte Songs auftauchen. Vor allem Piece of My Heart von Janis Joplin ist unschlagbar :-). Liebe Grüsse

Absolutely nice music...Thanks for sharing...Keep it up..

Music is a source of gladness of wise people, it is able to cause good ideas in people, it deeply gets to his consciousness and easily changes dispositions and consuetudes.Your post pleased me :)

Never knew she had a sister named Erma. Learning something new here always!

Very good post alexvan friend greetings i follow u from Amsterdam to Love :)

Keep it up... you can check my article about Poz veren tatlı kedi:))) and give me your feedback!

My article Poz veren tatlı kedi:)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42