The most wonderful time of the year (for weather)

in #danang6 months ago

There is a lot of moaning going on in Da Nang right now because it is the time of year where the weather gets really strange for about 6 weeks. It is much colder than the rest of the year and it is very likely to rain every day. For geographical reasons that I do not understand there is some sort of perma-cloud that jus sticks around hovering above Da Nang and sometimes ONLY Da Nang for about 6 weeks.

There are a lot of people here that loathe this time of year but for me, I absolutely love it.


image.png
src

While I could definitely do without the rain the fact of the matter is that you just need to bring an umbrella with you any time you leave the house. I, like most of the expat population here, rarely venture very far from my own condo and when I do go out and about it is normally on foot and not very far from home. I always pack one of those tiny umbrellas that cost next to nothing with me and yes, I frequently end up forgetting them and needing to purchase another one. Often these brollies are returned to me so now I have 4 or 5 of them sitting on a chair that is just inside the entrance to my condo. I should give them away to people and will make an effort to do exactly that.


image.png
src

Here you can see what it looks like us for the next 7 days and while none of this probably seems that extreme to other people living in a part of the world that has proper 4 seasons, this is the cold time of year for us. Normally, i set my air conditioning on around 24 degrees so the fact that the nighttime temperature is lower than that is pretty fantastic to me. If it weren't for the construction noise I would simply sleep with the windows open but those mofos are relentless. I sit here right not on New Year's Eve and they don't even let those guys have the day off for that. They are jack hammering away and it wouldn't surprise me if they were out there bright an early tomorrow morning as well. That should be fun.

The risk of rain is constant this time of year but especially in the evenings it is the one time of year that I can wear a majority of my wardrobe without fear of turning into a soaking wet sweat-man of sorts. I can even wear jeans this time of year and this is extremely rare for me.

So while other people and the locals are complaining about the weather this time of year it is my absolute favorite time of year. So you have to deal with rain a bit... so what! We are in a tropical country and it could rain any time of year. In 2 months it will be back to blisteringly hot so let's enjoy it while we can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44