Da Nang: It seems this entire city is under construction

in #danang4 years ago

At least that is the case on the little "island" beach area that I live in. No matter where you go, or what part of it you live on, there is some level of banging, grinding, pounding, and dumping going on. This is a real problem when deciding where to live as many estate agents actually have to tell how close the nearest construction is. Most of them are lying also because it seems rather unavoidable.

127959171_168593031638473_2912852319198845934_n.jpg

This rapid expansion has been going on ever since I moved here and during the boom times that was seeing the Da Nang become a vacation hotspot it all kind of made sense that they would just build as much as they possibly could. However, Covid has made a lot of this seem a bit silly at this point since the already huge number of hotels that already exist near the beach are having such problems with occupancy that many (it might be most) of them have shut down entirely. I suppose that the builders have already invested so much in the property that they cant just walk away but I would imagine that it is going to be quite some time before the owners see some sort of return on their investment - certainly from a tourism perspective.

127889722_180389663751835_4901622012617532582_n.jpg

The northern-most part of the beach, during the first year that I lived here was undergoing massive demolition as smaller structures were torn down and moved away in order to make way for massive structures on the same plot of land. If you are anywhere near this area, the construction noise is all day, every day. Sometimes they even bring in industrial lighting so that the banging can continue well into the night. I don't know if this is even legal but whoever is in charge of the construction doesn't seem overly concerned about the laws if there even is one against this.

I am sitting in my "office" in my living room right now listening to the grinding of a tile cutter, and the constant banging of some sort of hammer. This has been going on since 7am and of course it is extremely annoying.

127585034_3504445222987392_8866453124368809352_n.jpg

It really doesn't seem to matter which direction you travel in from my condo, if you travel just a few hundred meters in any direction you are going to encounter multiple construction sites that are making noise constantly.

I have lived a lot of places in the world but I have never lived anywhere that had this much constant construction going on basically EVERYWHERE. It's enough to drive you a bit mental I think and it has gotten to the point where I look forward to massive downpours of rain during this rainy season, just so I can get 40 minutes of peace and quiet.

So if you are considering coming on a vacation to this area at any point in the next couple of years, you will almost certainly stay near the beach. You need to do your homework about construction noise because there is a very real chance that there is going to be construction nearby your hotel. I would say there is a 50% chance of it being right next door since it seems like every 3rd building is actually being constructed as we speak.

If you are looking at an apartment / condo and it is near a vacant plot of land, do not rent that condo on any sort of long-term contract. I can assure you that it is only a matter of time before that vacant plot of land becomes a construction site and while I am sure they move as quickly as they can that banging noise is going to be going on all day, every day, for a very long time.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 50 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Yeah...this is one thing I definitely don't miss about living in Da Nang, haha

it seems like everyone I know is moving to and fro in order to get away from construction noise only to discover that it exists at the new place to move to as well. You can't get away from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42