Books I've read #1 - Inferno by Dan Brown

in #dan7 years ago

I'm sure you all heard of The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown, a book that has created so much controversy in the world when it was published in 2003. Ten years later, Dan Brown has created another masterpiece with professor Robert Langdon as main protagonist - Inferno

Inferno-cover.jpg

When I first got this book, I thought to myself "Oh, again a book with proven recipe for a success - a bit of history, action and controversy", but boy was I wrong about that one. Dan Brown once again managed to tie me to this book, I literally read it one breath, that's how good this book is.

The book was written in what I call "a classical Dan Brown style", each chapter guiding you flawlessly to another, making flow of reading so smooth and unique. The way Brown fuses history, codes, symbols and art is so brilliant that you reallly walk into the plot easily, like you've always been there. For me, as an art lover and admirer, this was really an escape from everyday's art studying to seeing and learning art in a whole different manner.

I won't go into describing a plot beacuse that would probably spoil the experience for you who didn't read this book, but I have to mention the main theme and the way Brown circles around it. The book tells a story about a crazy biologist Bertrand Zorbrist who manages to make a virus which will efficiently solve the overpopulation problem. What strikes me the most about this is that Brown describes this problem in a way that you can actually agree with Zorbrist and not feel guilty about that. After reading the book, it really left an opet question to me about what do I think is right or wrong and is it really smart for people to decide about these things.

Once again, I have to say that Brown really managed to overcome his recent success with this book, although I didn't really expect it. It debuted as the #1 bestselling book in the US and was also atop the UK's book charts in its first week in shops, selling 228,961 copies. The book remained #1 on Nielsen BookScan for the week ending May 26, selling 211,000 copies and bringing its two-week total to 580,000. On top of that, in 2016 Ron Howard made a movie based on the book with Tom Hanks and Felicity Jones as main actors.

Inferno_(2016_film).png

What else do I have to say to convince you to read this book if you haven't already? Not much, I guess :)

Feel free to share your opinion in the comments and thank you for your time and attention!

Sort:  

Great book. Poor movie. It's pitty that book was "made" to be ecranised love the moral dilema.
Here's a reading recomendation for you.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1039041.The_Book_With_No_Name

Yeah, I also think that movie is no match for the book. Thanks for the recommendation, btw!

This was a nice movie. Hope tob see more of Dan Brown top charts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42