My daily Routine (for anti-aging, inner bliss, strength/flexibility, optimal creativity, health, and sense of community)

in #dailyroutine7 years ago (edited)

Before I begin, I should let you know that I'm currently a Beach Lifeguard for a city here in Southern California. I have a great appreciation for the life I have and want only to be as healthy as possible and feel that I'm a direct source of love for myself and those that I connect with. That being said, this is what I practice daily, to feel my absolute best, using knowledge I've gathered over the years, studying nutrition, Ayurveda, and being an athlete my whole life. DISCLAIMER: I'm not a practitioner yet, nor am I here to treat or diagnose anything; simply here to share what I've gathered so far.

I've designed this daily routine custom to my specific Dosha-type - which is Vata/Pitta (air & fire). I've had a professional Ayurvedic practitioner determine this (which I recommend for everyone). You can too, or you can take an online test, available with a quick Google search, "dosha quiz." I prefer all things Ayurveda from Banyan Botanicals, an amazing resource for herbs, oils, and knowledge.

Wake up at 6:00am or earlier - an ideal time to meet the new day, just before Kapha time begins, and the body/mind starts getting sluggish. Make my bed (studies show this is beneficial for productivity (already accomplishing something early on), retract the blinds, step outside and take a few deep breaths of the fresh air. I then face the sun, and either spin in circles with my arms out and relaxed (spinning leads to enlightenment), do 5 sun salutations, and/or widen my stance and twist back and forth with arms relaxed, all while reciting a mantra that came to me one day, "I am your love, I am your light, I am your courage, I am your strength." I recite this not only for myself, but for those that come in contact with me.

Pick a lemon from the tree, thanking it. Squeeze lemon into glass of water, splash of apple cider vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon of ginger (fresh or powdered), and a few drops of stevia. After the body sleeps, it detoxifies itself, and needs the support to get rid of the stuff. This drink is perfect in doing so, containing antioxidants (vitamin C especially), minerals, supports a healthy bowel movement, is anti-inflammatory and alkalizes the body. I also sip on green tea throughout the day, for the polyphenols and boost in energy. I like coffee every few days for the taste, but do a 1:1 ratio of almond milk. Coffee creates heat in the system, aggravating Pitta, so is good to cool or weigh down with something like milk.

Scrape tongue (using a tongue scraper) [this is vital], massage my entire body, feet to face, with a season-specific massage oil. Right now, because we're entering Summer, I use a Pitta Massage Oil. Massaging the body before doing anything, wakes up and detoxifies the lymphatic system, which Dr. John Douillard can talk about all day. It also feels amazing, and in Ayurveda is seen as giving yourself the proper love it needs, while lubricating the joints, locking in moisture for the skin, and since it's combined with cooling herbs, it prevents inflammation, arthritis and calms the nerves. Next, shower, usually cold water for the warmer days, which Dr. Rhonda Patrick and so many others advocate for an anti-aging-response from the body (her podcast on Tim Ferris' show is highly recommended), splash eyes with cold water. Dry & wipe off any excess oil, saving my clothes from spoilage (I've lost too many good shirts not doing this). Floss, brush teeth, oil pull with sesame oil for 15-20 minutes.

On my way to the yoga studio, I meditate on what I want to happen today, and let the universe know that I trust it to provide me with what I need to fulfill my purpose. One might be very surprised on how powerful our thoughts and prayers can be. While driving, take deep nostril breaths on a count of 6 seconds going in, hold for 2, let go for 8, hold for 2, repeat. I usually practice a vinyasa flow, in a heated, dim-lit environment, with relaxing music. I like to sweat, and would recommend a practice that you look forward to (I personally avoid Bikram yoga because it provokes my Vata and Pitta far beyond what's beneficial). After the class is over, I meditate, lying in savasana for as long as it takes to be completely clear, settle, and still my head (usually 5-15 minutes). I let all my thoughts pass by like clouds overhead, and I like to recall certain meditations from monks, or Sri Sri Ravi Shankar (a personal favorite; he's got a great one on the expansion of your-Self). Yoga and mediation provide the proper attuning of the mind/body/spirit to open all the chakras, creating an ideal environment for all situations. As a Vata, I tend to get anxiety, restlessness, scattered thoughts and actions. The Pitta in me tends to stress, get irritated and angry easily. So practicing yoga daily completely wipes all that away, providing a certain bliss and awareness, especially allowing me to 'just let go'.

Time for breakfast: organic, vegan, two palms-full meal custom to my dosha. (see more at banyanbotanicals.com for dosha specific foods and meals).

Now I'm ready for a day of service, work, dharma, whatever you want to call it. I like to be in the moment, but sometimes we have these roles to play; i.e. jobs. So I make the most of it, staying aware, not getting lost in thought, close my eyes every hour, check into my body, feeling the feelings, and lighten up. I personally enjoy laughing, so I try and make jokes with everyone who I'm interacting with - looking up to comedians and artists all my life, who seem to express a glory to the complexity of the human experience.

During lunch (biggest meal of the day), eating with friends or alone, I chew slowly, and try not to think. According to Ayurveda, we eat our thoughts and emotions. I usually eat vegan, but occasionally eat seafood, or pasture-raised eggs, never cow or chickens - it's just too cruel these days. I certainly don't want to support those experiences, ending up in my body. (I'll be writing an article soon on how the yogis see meat, vegetables, fruit, and breath as nutrients, as far as a spiritual hierarchy goes) Trust me when I say there's ways to not eat meat or dairy. Rich Roll is an incredible podcaster, and has a book called, "The Plantpower Way."

After lunch, from 2-6pm, we enter the Vata time of day, which is best for practicing creative things. If it's my day off, I'm either in my studio making electronic music or painting.

From 6-10 we enter the Kapha time of day again, which is best for working out. I'm either at the beach surfing, or if there aren't any waves, I go to the gym and lift weights. Weightlifting is extremely beneficial for uplifting any depression, and has science backed proof of strengthening the body, the brain, activating HGH (human growth hormone), etc. Another incredible podcast on the Tim Ferris show is Reverse Aging with Art De Vany. They even talk about how to work-out properly, for shorter amounts of time, which I love, because I personally don't enjoy being in gyms per say.

Dinner time, keeping it to a minimum. I prefer not to snack or eat more than 3 times during the day. Intermittent fasting, combined with drinking lots of water, allows the digestive system, or agni (digestive fire) to stay strong, burning off undigested food, toxins, and has been known to be most beneficial for anti-aging. Ayurveda sees agni, as the core, the center of the system, and the starting point of the manifestation of disease. If we have issues anywhere in the body, they can most likely be fixed by making adjustments through the digestive system. Also, if we have a weak digestive system, we're prone to gas, excess ama (toxic build-up) which clogs the channels of the body, leading to fatigue, bad bacterial over-growth, lack of deep sleep, and a domino effect on everything else. I eat around 6-7pm at the latest, then go for a walk, clearing my head of the day, sometimes alone, sometimes with others, talking about things, gossip, whatever to release and feel connection.

Spend time with friends, family, play music, read, watch movies, take some Triphala (supports healthy elimination for the morning time), make some warm milk with Ashwagandha & Shatavari, dates, cardamom (this is a known Ayurvedic tonic the nervous system). Sleep before 10pm, entering the Pitta time of the day, allowing the mind to burn off any excess thoughts and emotions from the day prior.

I usually water, or lemon juice, fast for 24 hours at least once a month. There's an undeniable clarity that I get from just breathing, and reseting the system. Yes, it's difficult, but gets easier the more I do it. *Check out Ray Maor on Youtube, a incredible breatharian teacher, that understands the dynamics of feeding the spirit with pure Prana (life-force).

My supplement intake includes: ALA (alpha-lipoic-acid), Magnesium, B-complex, Melatonin, Omega-3's.

Herbal intake: Spirulina, Bhringaraj (for healthy hair), Turmeric, Guggulu resin (has a scraping effect on the different tissue layers of the body), Arjuna bark (for the heart), Amla fruit (or Amalaki, very high in antioxidants), Bibhitaki, Haritaki, Pippali (for digestion), Brahmi [Gotu-Kola] (used by the yogis for thousands of years for deeper meditation, and a tonic for the brain), Hibiscus Flower (for the skin), lots of Ashwagandha and Shatavari combined (two of my favorite adaptogens that happen to clear away any stress, including muscle, nerve, and adrenal fatigue, serving the 7 different tissue layers, are aphrodisiacs, increasing sperm count, vigor, sex-drive, and allow a shorter recovery time for muscles), Guduchi, Kapikacchu (Mucuna Pruriens, an aphrodisiac to both male & female, supports fertility, and a natural source of levodopa (L-dopa), an essential precursor to the neurotransmitter dopamine), cardamom seed, Shilajit (a natural mineral substance that oozes from the rocks in the Himalayas, supporting healthy urinary tract, lungs, immune system, blood purifier, increases vitality and stamina, and supports anti-aging). Protein smoothies usually include blueberries, almond butter, vegan milk, raw powdered cacao, and sprouted vegan protein powder (I like Garden of Life RAW Protein Chocolate flavor from thrivemarket.com - their prices are super cheap, and include free shipping on a minimum amount, so I like to stock up).

I personally have stopped drinking alcohol, and smoking marijuana. I've never connected too much with alcohol, it only bringing me wasted next-days and regrettable decisions, not to mention it contributes to Candida (bad bacterial overgrowth), leaky-gut syndrome, and has potential to manifest bad situations. I quit smoking the herb, because, although I very much enjoy it, and know it has many medicinal benefits, it throws off my sleep cycle, and makes me lazy, and can contribute to depression in the long-term. I also steer clear of anything else that doesn't grow naturally from the ground; really looking forward to an ayahuasca ceremony soon. If you have any questions on psychedelics, and how they've helped me personally, feel free to ask.

I never eat left-overs, unless it's insanely good Thai or Indian food. Left-overs lack Prana, and create sluggishness for digestion. Food combination is important as well (not combining fruit with anything else), while tasting the beneficial flavors to my dosha (Prakriti), and state of balance (Vikriti). Food is the main medicine in Ayurveda, so if anyone wants to heal themselves, there are plenty of ways to do so without doctors and their drugs. **This is a blanket statement. Of course, there are obvious benefits to Western medicine.

If you personally ever feel like you can use some change or have any questions, let me know. I personally grew up with allergies, asthma, anxiety, depression, lactose intolerance, low body weight, acne, and an over-all lack of understanding of who I was, what I wanted, and how to connect with the force within me and around me. It wasn't until I sought out direct answers, took a few Philosophy and Religious studies classes, did some psychedelics, and discovered Ayurveda, to find what I was looking for.

Thanks for reading, namaste, warm Oms,

In light,

Scuba

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47