Kniphofia - Popsicle plant or red hot poker or torch lily

in #dailypost6 years ago

I was challenged by @mountainjewel to "Identify one plant that you walk by every day." Living in California this plant is all over. IMG_0648.JPG
It is officially the Kniphofia but goes by popsicle, red hot poker, or torch lily. Unfortunately we are right at the end of its blooming season so my photos aren't the best.
IMG_0941.JPG
This photo shows the plant. Its leaves are very similar to day lilies. In my area it is often planted in same bed as day lilies, I had trouble finding isolated plants to photo. Kniphofia is native to Africa and a member of the Asphodelaceae family. This wasn't a great choice for my first post - its not native and its ornamental. I plan to focus on native, useful plants in future posts. My goal is to become a more conscious of nature and my surroundings. However, I did learn a little about a plant I have walked by literally for years without even knowing its name.

Sort:  

Wow, seems like you have so many different flowers where you live!

I really like this one. Very unique.

Awesome love it! This one is such a beaut~ you’re off to a great start 💚🌿

I love that flower, but only known it as hot poker! I like torch lily name the best..It is so fitting..

Yes they are so beautiful and different

That is a very interesting plant.

Thanks for the picture and description.

Today I am going to do another plant from the neighborhood. Trying to find native plants.

Thanks for participating in our Giveaway.
Your post has been Promoted for Free.
Find out how to participate by clicking here.

Red hot fire poker is the name I knew, thanks for adding the true name to my vocabulary! I was once quested to ID lomatium. I spent all summer searching, sniffing, grabbing leaves... Once I figured out which plant (plants, we have 3 varieties around here which complicated my efforts!) I realized it was growing all over my property... lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59762.43
ETH 2663.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41