Cat on a cool evening deck

in #dailypetphotography6 years ago (edited)

In case this blog post title didn't whack you over the head, it is a play on "cat on a hot tin roof," the play (and screenplay) by Tennessee Williams. You can read about it in this wiki, if you would like to know more.

This is a picture of my kitty, Angel, aka Outdoor Cat.

It's funny, because I'm a believer in cats being indoors, for the most part. They are such hunters! But this cat could not be contained. She is a female Tom cat, and must prowl. She is typically out all night and comes inside in the morning for breakfast. She loves to hang out with me outdoors while I'm gardening, watering, or sitting on the deck enjoying an afternoon or evening.

Angel is about 14 years old and going strong.

Angel-on-deck.JPG

Here's another picture -- a close up among my garden plants.

Angel.jpg

Thanks for visiting!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

I have 11 house cats and have been learning what destruction outside cats do to the bird population. Especially the ground birds like Quale and Woodcock. The ground birds are said to keep the Tick population in bounds.
I also have a prolific female cat hunter "Scary Mary" She would catch and kill mice and voles and birds and raised 5 kittens, until I came along. I decided to take her in my basement to get through the winter. She was in and out for awhile. But made the decision to keep her inside, mainly so she wouldn't bring diseases in for my other cats and because of the tick and mosquitoes problem.

She is now content in being indoors after crying to go out in the beginning. Not telling you what to do, each area and situation different.

PS ... I kept 3 of Scary Mary's kittens and found a home for the other two.

Thank you very much for sharing that! My cat does not catch birds, thank goodness. I would not stand for that. She only catches rodents. And fewer of those now, since she is getting on in years.

Thanks so much for partaking in dailypetphotography. Please follow @dpet for upcoming events. Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Oh, how fun! Thanks for the invitation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76