Meet Tiny!

in #dailypetphotography7 years ago (edited)

This is Tiny, a little chubby hamster that my student, S dreamt and wished so much to have. It is a Syrian hamster which is a medium-sized hamster, slightly bigger than its Roborovski cousins. S had been telling me about Tiny for months, showing me its photo too.

IMG_20180209_124500.jpgPhoto courtesy from my student, S.

Last year, when S's birthday was approaching in few months time, she had been looking forward to having Tiny. Tiny is one of the many hamsters she saw in her tuition center, waiting to be adopted. She had been looking at them everyday and she finally wanted Tiny, because of its golden brown fur colour. Since then, she had been saving her pocket money so she can get Tiny a decent home. She had even planned to bring Tiny for this upcoming Chinese New Year visiting, so she also set aside an amount to get it a jogging ball or carrier.

S was really serious with this adoption, thus she went to study up how to take care of a hamster. Everytime I saw her, she was enthusiasticly telling me her plans: where to keep Tiny, where to let it out for a play, what type of bedding is suitable, how often she needs to buy food for it etc.

S was of course doing the countdown three months before her birthday! I too, tapped on this enthusiasm and made her write essay about a proposal of how to take care of a Roborovski hamster and put all the information from her "research" into words and paragraphs. She wrote a decent essay happily and WITHOUT objection or grumbles with me. Hahaha!

To encourage her, I told S I would sponsor her an item for Tiny if she was allowed to keep it as her birthday present too. She was really over the moon except for one thing: she has yet to ask if her family would allow her to keep it!!!!

When her birthday came, her aunt and also godmum didn't agree to her request but saying that they would keep in view. So, S was of course disappointed. However, she sent me this photo and asked me to write about Tiny so everyone can know about Tiny.

Well, I too think Tiny is an adorable hamster. The least that I can do is, share this interest with S, though it is not a happy story ending for S. She still goes to her tuition center and plays with Tiny.

I like to watch hamsters stuffing food into their cheeks. I find it very amazing and cute, like this one:

200w (3).gif
GIF source: GIPHY

Thank you for reading about my sharing of my relationship with some young people I tutor! Besides tutoring them academically, I love to take interest in their lives too and build friendship whenever possible.

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif


APP.png

Sort:  

Such a cute hamster! I hope your student get to keep Tiny soon! :)

Haha thanks :) Yeah, got to ask her and her aunt again.

In my childhood I also had a hamster. It was interesting to watch his actions, but they live very little there. It is sad.

Yeah looks like they have a shorter life-span than the other bigger pets. My student told me from her information research that they can only live 2-3 years. Sure it was a sad time for u too @amalivania.

You got a 1.37% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @happycrazycon!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hi little Tiny. Soooooo cute. Remind me of Jansen if he keeps food in the mouth. lol

Yeah u have one Lil "hamster" at home :) that one is incomparable! Bless Jansen to eat the food he kept, Hehe!

look at that little cute furball... hamsters are really adorable to watch.

But personally I think it's cruel to keep these guys in those small cages. Hamsters are really not well domesticated and imho quite unsuitable as pets for children... They more often than not get sick and suffer psychologically from being kept as pets...

sorry to maybe crash the mood... but yeah...

Oh yes @fraenk! My student did mention about them getting psychologically depressed easily too. Maybe that's why their life-span is really short when they become pets. I appreciate your reply, no worries :) I shall collect more of such information to ask her again if she really wants it as a pet or not. You have a very good valid point there!

Oh man he is adorable!!!!! A pity the folks didn't agree :( That be so difficult for little minds to absorb and accept and it certainly sounded like she actually showed real maturity about the situation and probably would have made an excellent "mommy" to Tiny....

Very sweet story dear xxx

Yeah I think so too. Because she has done all her "homework" to learn about its lifestyle, needs and comfort, I also think she can be responsible and ready for it. Hehe I might go talk to her aunt about it as a reward for her working hard in her academics recently. We shall see if there's a turning point for this 😁

Thanks for feeling it for her @jaynie :) I told her about your reply, and it made her day!

@happycrazycon Such a cute hamster. It reminds me of my lil hamster, when I still a secondary student (it ran away from the cage and got bumped by a car :( )

Oh my goodness! You must be sad. I have a similar story as yours, my cat got bang by a car because I let it walk around. Our little friends :(

By the way @wilhb81, I have been reading your Chinese posts. You don't know how awestruck I am by your 文采!!! You are very very very veryyyyyy good eh! 大大给赞 👍

That's very unfortunate for your cat, I bet you must be very upset as well. Maybe, it's their destinies to say goodbye with us...

Oh, I flattered that you're fancy with my posts. Well, I just wrote and shared with all the Steemians.

Thanks for your words, and 加油 for both of us :D

Gosh, little Tiny is so cute!!

So adorable.. I wanted to keep one back then, but when i hold it in my open hand, it bites me. From then onwards, i don't even dare to touch it. LOLL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50