Memorial Day. Dogs We Loved. In Memoriam. [EN/中文]DailyPetPhotography submissions | Day 499

I spy with my little eye... a TEDDY!!!

He was always the leader of the pack

when we'd go on walks. In his later years, he would disappear on me and I'd worry about where he'd gone. Then when I got home, ready to organize a search party, he'd be there on our deck or his owner's patio, catching his breath. He seemed to know his limits and when to go home.

Unlike Blaise.

More than once, Blaise collapsed

in the middle of a long walk and had to be carried home. The last time, I had to call my husband home from work to help me get Blaise onto a tarp.

He had lost weight: "down to a hundred pounds," still too much for me. Ted was much smaller, only forty pounds, and in the end, he was no harder for me to carry than a sleepy toddler.

Bailey

Both Bailey and Blaise

started declining a few years before the older dog, Ted the Red Heeler, who lived to age 16. But the day came when Ted wouldn't even head into the meadow. He was smart! And we were heartbroken.

Like angels in the afternoon light

If there's an afterlife, you will greet me there, and you will meet Prince and Bear, and you'll romp and play tug-of-war and run the meadow just like before.


Sort:  

Recommended this for @zephalexia's UP-GAGE challenge

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for this recommendation dear

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.
You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

dogs are really man's bestfriend . When we lost our Sky ( our puppy ) even we just had him for a month , i already cried a lot , i think i can't have another pet , because it hurts in the heart

Your post has been recommended by @kendra19 for my up-gage challenge

I hear you! The hurt is more than we can bear, but if we walk into an animal shelter and see all the homeless, lovable furballs who will be put down--euthanized--we might put ourselves through that pain again, loving and losing a pet. Our first pair of collies died, but we hope to have at least ten more good years with our second pair. For me, life without a dog is less of a life. But I do understand those who choose not to go through that heartbreak again.

Hi @carolkean,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Our pets give us so much love. They teach us how to be better humans :-)

With your 13+ cats, your more human than most of us! Your affection and respect for Scary Mary is a model we would all do well to follow, especially when it comes to giving each other space.

Scary Mary my be a pain but her 5 kids are all dolls. I only have 11 cats... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83