Gentle, Domesticated Dogs who still love to kill - DailyPetPhotography- Day 467

Why do collies kill squirrels?

"Because people let them" is the popular answer at a Rough Collie group I'm in at Facebook. I beg to differ. Most of my days are spent outside on seven acres, and I cannot outrun a collie, nor have I learned how to train out the primal hunting instinct that hasn't been bred out of dogs. A large number of commenters praised the dog for this kill and said their own collies hunt mice, rats, and other small furry mammals regularly--and that it's their job. Another faction pointed out the the squirrels have it coming. They notoriously taunt and tease dogs, knowing most dogs are not as fast as squirrels.

Our little Bear

appears to be telling the story of the kill, and Prince appears to be very pleased with himself.

I do not praise or reward this behavior. I'm not fast enough to prevent. And I don't know how to stamp it out.

We will not mention the vehicle hits on deer, occasionally sending fresh venison over the fence and onto our property.

Of course the dogs find it before I do.

Of course the dogs dig right in.

*sigh

Sort:  

My dachshund used to kill my chickens. I nicknamed him Killer and considered getting rid of him because he was so unmanageable. Then I got a dog trainer to come help. I discovered the problem was ME. I learned how to talk so that Jimmy would listen, never let him near the chix unless I was out there (still don't) and finally made him understand I didn't care for his menacing my chickens. He still loses control now and then, I can see the bloodlust the @wakeupkitty talks about, and I have to go rescue one of them, usually Lucy.
But I can't train Jimmy to stop menacing anything else, and when the bloodlust is on him he does not seem to be able to hear me at all. It's interesting to see them go into such a primal mode. The way of things I suppose.
You have beautiful animals.

Your dachshund is bred to hunt so it's normal behavior. You can't blame an animal for its instinct.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said!
I'm catching hell over at the collie group on Facebook. Half of 'em say "Shame on you!" for failing to train the collie not to kill. The other half say "Praise him." :)
Your little itty bitty dachsund - Killer - why am I laughin?

The dachshund is bred to hunt and kill so just doing his job. Dogs are not ment to sit on laps and behave like a stuffed animal. Let them be what they are animals.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree with @wakeupkitty that this is not something you can train out of them or even should and they are so very HAPPY when they are doing it that I get a little spillover joy.

My cat just brought in a still squirming mouse. I praised her. Poor little mouse though. We also need to make allowance for the human emotions around dying creatures.

I love you!!! THANK YOU for the affirmation. Those animal lovers at the facebook groups chastise me for not training my dogs to respect all wildlife. OMG. The farmers would have their heads. My neighbor for one....

Hi @carolkean,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

I doubt they love to kill. It is instinct, for the most part, to chase after a moving little or big figure. Sometimes a kind of game and way to play and they are surprised its no longer moving. Seldom it is a hunt to provide in its own meal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks - you are right! I suspect Prince thinks of squirrels as the equivalent of Frisbees that tease him and taunt him. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43