Daily Nature Fix: A 25-Year-Old Tabletop Forest. (Original Photos)

Hello steemians.  Today's daily nugget of a nature is about some of the most impressive bonsai displays I ever saw.  These were on exhibit at Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.  It is an amazing, massive place covering 1,077 acres and is full of meticulously kept landscaping.  Flower arrangements, hedge mazes, water gardens, greenhouses the size of apartment complexes, massive trees that are hundreds years old; they have it all.  The term "champion tree" refers to the largest recorded specimen of a particular tree species.... and Longwood Gardens as 63 champion trees on their property!  But I digress.

      Today's post isn't about massive trees, but rather the opposite.  Tiny ones. And with out further delay, here is the coolest bonsai arrangement I have ever seen:

^^^26 years old, folks! An entire tiny forest!

And here was a close runner up:

^^^24 years old.

    I liked that one quite a bit because it was easily recognizable as a maple.  It's awesome to see trees that I'm really familiar with, but on such a tiny scale!  The art of bonsai is done by tripping the root mass and the crown of the tree.  It's incredible to think that people stay disciplined enough to keep these things alive for decades.  Speaking of decades, here's one of the older specimens they had; 87 years old...

^^^A tiny elm tree nearly 100 years old.

At 87, that elm is just a baby still.  There are some bonsai trees, still alive today, that are over 1,000 years old!

Thanks for reading, friends.  - Adam

I post a daily nature fix blog every day, so make sure you follow me to keep up with them all! @customnature


***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

These are awsome, I visited a place a few months ago that had some i took pictures of them. I will post them next week. I have been thinking about trying to make one.
💋 @halo 💋😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52