[Single Guy Cooks on Sundays] HAINAN CHICKEN RICE!

It's Sunday again, but it has been a hectic week for me, probably explains why I blog less often here now. But I'm back! And for a quick Sunday brunch fix, I decided to make this super easy Hainan Chicken Rice!

IMG_1083.jpg
PHOTO BY ME

This is mind-blowing easy, given with the right ingredients, and it's super yummy too!

First thing first, you gotta cook your rice, and cook them like how you cook rice usually.

Then, wash your chicken breasts and put it in a steamer. I like mine whole and chop them up after but you can do yours either way, but do remember that it cooks quicker if it's chopped up before steaming.

The secret ingredient is this!
IMG_1593.jpg

This is the special soy sauce my aunt bought from Penang, at one of the morning markets. Not sure if you can get this year though, but this soy sauce is the bomb!

It doesn't only acts as soy sauce but a base condiment for all your steamed cuisines like steamed fish, you don't need anything else except for some extra seasoning with this!

So I drenched my chicken breast with this sauce and steam it for around 25 mins or until it is thoroughly cooked (but not too cooked to maintain the tender meat), and the chicken is done!

As for the rice, I used this Hainan chicken rice paste:
IMG_1594.jpg

Take a table spoon out of this jar and mix it with your rice ONLY when your rice is almost cooked (around 5 minutes before cooked). Stir your rice evenly and your rice is done! Usually 1 table spoon of this paste can accommodate 2-3 servings of rice!

And that's it! Plate them together with some cilantro for garnishing and garlic chilli sauce on the side (mine is from the bottle lol shame) and you're ready to eat yummm.

Freaking easy for people who are lazy and stays alone.

IMG_1086.jpg
PHOTO BY ME

Let me know what you think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68