What to Cook Today #1 - Easy Bolognese Sauce

in #dailyfoodphotography7 years ago (edited)

One of life's biggest challenge is coming up with what to cook - especially if cooking is not your forte. Add on to the fact that I only cook certain weekends, grocery shopping is a pain for I may end up with ingredients going to waste.

My cooking style is simple - I only cook stuff that is easy and does not require a lot of ingredients or effort.

So I did a quick search on the internet and decide on bolognese pasta. The pasta part is easy, only the bolognese sauce required a bit of work. However, I managed to cut down the ingredients by half.

In case you are wondering, this is where my inspiration came from:
http://www.noobcook.com/bolognese-sauce/2/

Here's my version.

What You Need

  • 2 yellow onions (medium) - diced
  • 3 stalks of celeries - diced
  • 4 tomatoes (medium) - pureed
  • 500g pork shoulder - minced and marinated with salt and pepper
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • ketchup
  • 100ml milk

How to Cook

  1. Heat olive oil in the pan and stir-fry the diced onions and celeries on low heat until soften.

  2. Add the minced pork and stir-fry till they are brown.

  3. Add tomato puree followed by ketchup to taste. Cook for about 2 minutes.

  4. Add the milk to the mixture, stir and simmer for about 30 minutes. Add salt and pepper if needed.

  5. Boil some pasta and add the sauce to the pasta. Top with some grated parmesan cheese for extra flavour.

Ta-daa! Easy isn't it?

This is my first time adding milk to a bolognese sauce and I find that it helps to counter the sourness of the ketchup. The great thing about this sauce is you can store it in the fridge or freezer and just add it to your pasta for a quick meal.

Sort:  

oh my! I'm hungry now in the middle of the night! hahaha

😬 you have biscuit and milo at home in the meanwhile?

wow! exactly what I had! I guess it's a Malaysian kind of thing :)

Lucky guess! But yes that’s my usual snack too. Couldn’t live without it!

2 am and I’m craving for 🍝 🤤🤤.

Sorry~ I hope you get to have somenice supper before bedtime

There should be a rule against food related posts made in the wee hours of the night :P

Hahaha... i try not to next time.

Nice food!!!! Definitely my backup meal if I have no idea what to cook:)

Thank you!

Ok... you made it look easy... :)

Thanks! Think as long as you have the tomatoes and ketchup you are pretty much safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74