Happynerdycon: Fun and Interesting Facts #5 A Post from A Mango Lover

in #dailyfoodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Is anyone here a fan of mangoes?? Well, you are looking at one - ME! I love both semi-ripe mangoes and fully ripe mangoes!

Before I go on and on, here is my entry for #dailyfoodphotography by @howtostartablog: Silky Mango Pudding in evaporated milk. It looks almost like a Panna Cotta. It is my first time trying it with evaporated milk, which has a slight savory nice taste so its combination is actually a genius move, to me. It is very nice, in my opinion and I love it. This is only for MYR7 which is equivalent to USD1.79. As you can see, it also has tiny bites of real mangoes in the pudding. Because of it being so heavenly, I wish it comes in a much BIGGER portion, haha! That's my gluttony speaking 😜

IMG_20180302_010922.jpg

This is the food photo as the entry for #dailyfoodphotography.


Mango is a common fruit in my country. In fact, it is easily found in Asia since it is one of the tropical fruits. It is usually very sweet when it is full ripened, a little sourish if it is semi-ripe. Before writing this post, I took some time to study about this fruit, as the nerdy side of me is curious.

Ways of Having Mangoes

If it is semi-ripe, I would love to have it with the plum powder or even with some chili, which I don't know how to prepare that but I often buy it from fruit vendors.

mangoes-1320111_960_720.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

If it is ripe, I love to eat it just plainly as the fruit itself or as any part of a dessert. I usually get to take the seed with some flesh in my family which I personally think is the best part of a mango. There are many great desserts which are made of mangoes, among which is the famous Thai glutinous rice with mango slices, and also a well-known mango dessert chain I knew from Hong Kong which has branched out in Malaysia, Hui Lau Shan.

IMG_20180304_193136.jpg
Photo from my Facebook years ago of my visit to the authentic Hui Lau Shan in Hong Kong.

IMG_20180304_193153.jpg
Photo from my Facebook years ago of us having mango desserts again and again at the same shop.

I visited Hui Lau Shan in Hong Kong back in 2008, after my university graduation with a few of my friends. It was so delicious that we had it few times in one trip!!! So, I secretly wish some Malaysians would come up with something similar. Fast forward a few years, I saw they open up their chain here! So, of course, I have been a faithful patron too.

FB_IMG_1520156430054.jpg
Photo from my Facebook years ago of me enjoying the variety of mango desserts with my hometown friends.

In the current Hui Lau Shan, they also have a variety of durian desserts besides mango desserts as well as those hot sweet drinks (tong sui) like the sweet potato hot drink with ginger that I had just the other day with my mango pudding. Besides that, there are also snacks and also meals in good portioning. The prices of food and drinks are within a reasonable and affordable range.

Mangoes Are Good, Not Just in Taste!

mango-2360551_960_720.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

This finding of the benefits of mango is actually new to me. All I know before this is mango is rich in fibres, which sometimes can get stucked in between the teeth. What I did not know were:

  • It is rich in vitamins.
    It has Vitamin C, B6 and other B vitamins and also Vitamin E. Hence, it is a good fruit to boost our immune system.

  • It is rich in iron.
    This fruit can be a good addition to the diet of those having anemia, which is low in iron or for pregnancy women as they are usually prescribed iron tablets by their gynecologists in this period.

  • It is rich in potassium and magnesium.
    Potassium and magnesium are essential to lower down blood pressure. Magnesium also aids sleep and enriches our bone structure. Meanwhile, potassium would relieve cramps as well as it helps the contraction of muscles, including the preservation of our hearts health.

  • It can prevent cancer in some ways.
    Mangoes can help in preventing cancer, especially colon cancer as it aids the bowel movements with their rich fibers. It is also documented that mango helps to prevent prostrate cancer.

  • It helps with digestion.
    Mangoes contain enzymes that will help our body to break down our food more effectively and also helps with egestion which is to eliminate waste out of the body.

  • It prevents constipation.
    A mango a day keeps constipation away! The fibers are on diligent working mode, pairing with the natural mechanisms of our bodies.

  • It lowers the blood cholesterol.
    As a source of Vitamin C and pectin (a soluble polysaccharide/strach/fiber in gelatinous form which is usually present in ripe fruits), mango aids to lower the bad cholesterol, also known as the Low-Density Lipoprotein.

  • It improves acne and skin condition.
    Mangoes can brighten up the skin complexion to give it a lighter tone. It can help to cleanse our facial pores and prevents acne or pimples, how good is that, ladies?! Bye bye, clogged pores!

  • It helps relieves heat stroke?
    Wow, this is one benefit that I am really clueless about. Living in a tropical country, getting heat stroke is quite common when the weather is all hot and humid. Apparently, green mango juiced with water and sweetener can help to cool down the body.

  • It helps to promote healthy sex.
    After reading and comparing a few articles, I guess I have to believe that this is for real. Mangoes is a source of high Vitamin E, which is tested on rats that Vitamin E and sex drive are linked. Though, this is still requiring further research.

With so much benefits from this fruit, I am sure you do not need further persuasion or convincing from me.

References:


Thank you for taking your time to read my post about mangoes today. Now all you mango lovers have all the reasons to keep loving your favourite fruit! Eat 'em mangoes! I am loving my post today because it is all yellowish, my favourite colour!

giphy (16).gif
GIF Source: Giphy

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I love ripe mango and eating mango float as a dessert is a heavenly. But, I also want to try this one. It looks delicious. Oh well, I think any food that has mangoes are all delicious to me! Hehe

nice post..
like this...

I love mangoes too.. But
Not as much as you do

hahah thanks for coming by @sikan-eyen :) I do love them alot!

Look delicious

I love mangoes too! A super post about the power of mangoes, @happycrazycon! Thank you for writing this post :)

haha you are right, there is power in mangoes!!! @heartscally, thanks for being so ever supportive :)

Yup I love mangoes too! Unfortunately I have to eat less of these sweet fruits because I am wanting to go on a keto diet. Maybe once in a while...will make me appreciate them even more. Have a gret week ahead!

Hahah I am sure you will. Good luck in your keto diet @khimgoh :) Reward yourself with shorter term goals, maybe one of them can be some mangoes, hehe!

aren't mangoes the best especially indian mangoes 😆 & Hui Lau Shan my go-to for mango desserts!

Hahah yes Indian mangoes are especially sweet and juicy! High five to another Hui Lau Shan fan! :)

🖐️🖐️🖐️

I love mangoes! I never knew about all the benefits! Nice post!

Neither did I, @rwedegis, the nerdy part of me decided to find out and I am so glad I did, haha!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63