Daily Food Photography: Trofie with Pesto

in #dailyfoodphotography7 years ago (edited)

For Christmas, a friend of mine gifted me a food box, containing some hand made Italian typical foods. One of them was a sacket of Trofie with a pack of Pesto sauce attached to it.

IMG_20180127_122706.jpg

Trofie and pesto is a typical dish of Liguria, an Italian region overlooking the sea. Trofie is a type of pasta with a long and thin shape. In the Ligurian language the term trofie means "dumpling". A trofia is in fact a little dumpling made with flour and potatoes, but with a shape and consistency substantially different from the common dumplings.

In Liguria trofie are usually seasoned with pesto sauce. This sauce is made with basil, pecorino cheese, olive oil, pine nuts and garlic. Sometimes it is possible to add to the basic recipe some minced potatoes and green beans. But my favourite version is the original one. I usually eat this sauce in summer, since I can use my fresh basil to prepare it. However, even this packaged version was delicious, since it is not of industrial production, but it was made by hand by a small producer.

So here's the result! Have you ever eaten trofie with pesto before? You should definitely try them if you like basil!

IMG_20180127_122801.jpg

Did you like the post? Please upvote, comment and follow!

Sort:  

Haven't eaten one but that looks yummy!
It is expensive to eat in Italian restaurants here in the Philippines (^_^)

I wonder why photocontests bot has no reply. Are you following @juliank and @photocontests?

Yes, Italian restaurants are often expensive abroad! As soon as I'll cook homemade trofie with pesto I'll post the recipe!

I followed both juliank and photocontests, but I never get a comment or upvote.

Nice photos! I've already eaten pasta with pesto once, but it was spaghetti! I really liked them! Please share also the recipe, so I can try to make them at home!

@OriginalWorks
@Steem-untalented

Thank you! I will surely share the recipe as soon as I'll prepare pesto again! I'll let you know!

i love them!! i eat trofie cacio e pepe two days ago.
Enjoy

You got a 1.75% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @foodart!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

This post has received a 2.61 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @foodart.

This post has received a 14.29 % upvote from @moneymatchgaming thanks to: @foodart. Upvote this Post to Support the MMG Community on Steemit! :)

This post has received a 7.04 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @foodart.

You got a 1.39% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @foodart!

This post has received a 2.78% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64